Single Crust Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Instead of peaches, i figured the amount of fruit is about 6 cups i used 4.5 cups sliced strawberries and 1.5 cups diced mango. I used all brown sugar and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. The pie was full to the top and i had plenty of mixture to just about cover the top of the pie. I did use an extra tbsp of butter to make it more crumbly. I'll try oats next time. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Welch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I even drained the peaches for awhile. It was just mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Roussel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
One of the best peach pies I have had/made. I did doubled the topping mix, added a 1/2 tsp cinnamon and tossed the peaches in about 1/2 cup flour (no need to drain them then saving all the yummy juice.) I put 1/4 of the topping in first, added the peaches and then put the rest of the topping on. Cooked just as instructed and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We loved this pie! Peaches aren't in season in Colorado just yet so I used frozen peaches that I thawed but left slightly slushy. I coated the peaches with about 1/3 c flour and 1/4 c of sugar along with some Cinnamon and nutmeg since I knew they would have extra moisture being they were previously frozen and I also knew they wouldn't be near as sweet as fresh peaches. Other than that I left the recipe as is and doubled it to make 2 pies. We loved loved loved it. The topping got nice and crunchy and has a lovely flavor. A peach pie was the request and this one made me look like a rock star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Loved this. We didn't think it was too runny at all, but I followed other suggestions and drained the peaches and also kept it in the oven after baking. I added a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon per other's suggestions. Next time I will definitely double the crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was great. After reading other reviews, I doubled the topping and mixed 1/2 in with peaches and then topped with the rest. Added Almond extract for kick of flavor. Topping: 1/3 Cup Flour, 1/4 Cup Brown sugar, 1/4 Cup White sugar, 1 Tsp. Cinnamon + Nutmeg. I used the refrigerated dough and pressed into my 10" pie pan. I tried mixing yellow and white peaches but next time will only do yellow as the white weren't as sweet. Consistency of peaches was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritzput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this pie GF and it came out great. I used a premade GF pie shell and took the advice of others and doubled the crumb mixture. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I used tapioca starch for the flour and earth balance buttery sticks for the butter. I used 6 fresh peaches because that was all I had. I added half tsp. of Xanthan Gum to help hold the crumb mixture together. I also added a little cinnamon. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Love this recipe. Only a four because I made a few changes. I followed several of the tips in the reviews. I used frozen peaches, but I drained them. Then I added about 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the peaches to make them thicker. I also substituted Splenda Blend for the sugar. It was fantastic. Nice and thick and easy to cut. My husband asked me to make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Easy and very good. Best if eaten soon. Crust gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was my first attempt at a peach pie and it came out great! Bonus was I made it gluten-free (GF) for my daughter. Pie crust was GF and available pre-mixed in a box except for wet ingredients of course. I couldn't find nice fresh peaches so I bought frozen peach slices in a bag and would highly recommended it as an alternative and a time saver. Honestly after adding and baking the peaches you wouldn't be able to tell the difference between fresh and frozen. Like previous reviewers I had doubled the crumble ingredients and added cinnamon too! The flour was GF mixed grains plus I added a bit of xanthan gum (GF thickener). Worked wonders! Nice and dense and not runny but moist. The rating should be a 4 since many bakers here add changes to original but hey, that's what makes a great recipe. The basic recipe is simple and for anyone to give it a bad rating really need to see what they did wrong and try it again. Peaches come in various sizes, textures and ripeness and can really alter your results for this recipe. A really true baker or even chef would try a recipe again before mindlessly bashing a recipe. “Cut my pie into four pieces, I don’t think I could eat eight.” ? Yogi Berra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Psycholist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States