Singaporean Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This is really delicious. I suggest you stick to the oranges. I made a mistake of substituting them on the second batch I made. It was such a hit! I made this with beef chucks and they tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This recipe is so amazing i would give more stars if I could.The ingredients may sound odd together but mixed together theyre awesome,will definetely make this an all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENEPEREZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Isabela, Isabela, Puerto Rico
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this! It was so yummy!! I personally don't like spare ribs, so next time I make it I think I will use a pork roast sliced or something, but the flavor was phenomenal!! I made it with Coconut Jasmine Rice and it was a wonderful accompaniment to the dish!! I will definately make this one again, it made me feel like a gourmet chef! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Was a disaster for. Got the idea but in future I would rather know how long a stick of cinnamon is for instance. I put 5, 12 cm long sticks and turned out to be a disaster. I had more orange juice left. The quantities in the recipe do not tie up with usage when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Wonderful. I admit I was rather dubious about the large quantity of spices (note for the reviewer who gave 1 star, a stick of cinnamon is usually 2-3 inches long), but it came out great. I was short on star anise so I added a tsp of five spice powder, and I also added the grated zest of an orange to the marinade and used beef broth instead of water. Everyone raved! It's great there's such a relatively fast spare rib recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
We made twice the ribs in the same amount of sauce and only used 3 cinnamon sticks. we thought these came out wonderfully. We had them with the Mediteranean Couscous and it was a great combination. My three year old daughter even loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I didn't have any star anise so I just left it out and my boyfriend doesn't like cinnamon and I left that out as well- it turned out wonderful. The only thing different I did was fry it a little bit longer so I can cut down on the simmering time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Excellent Spare Rib recipe! The ribs and the sauce went great together! Fall off the bone tender. Flavors seemed exteremly intense during preparation, so I was aprehensive about the final result. I was very pleasently surprised, my husband, almost 2 and 3 year old loved them. Paired with a coconut rice following another reviewers suggestion, a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Tried and tested - 100% delicious I made no substitutions - its 100% idiot proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My boyfriend and I loved this dish, I cooked this lastnight. I don't have cinnamon sticks so I just used the powder form. I don't have star anise so I used five spice powder as substitute. This is a very good dish. You should all try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States