Singapore Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Wow that is delish. Made just as written but of course it started to rain as soon as I went outside to grill so I put it a grill pan inside. Cooked perfectly. Make this for dinner today it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
didnt have tumeric, used fresh ginger and garlic and one full stock of lemon grass per chicken breast. next time add a lil peanut butter perhaps or greek plain yogurt and bake...... overall F**king unreal! better then take out Vietnamese and i love that sh*t..... suggested side : rice or Vermicelli noodle or roasted root veg and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Blyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
My husband LOVES this recipe! (I do too) I use sesame oil instead of peanut (allergies) and when I can't find fresh lemongrass I use powdered. I serve them just as chicken breasts, and they're great! Instead of using some of the marinade as dipping sauce, I make my own, and often grill the remaining marinated onions on my george foreman when the chicken is finished. EXCELLENT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I didn't thread this on skewers, but instead chopped the meat into bite size pieces before marinating, and then used it as part of a stir fry. This was my first time trying lemon grass, and I loved the taste it gave the marinade. However, it is not very edible on it's own--very very woody. Think of lemon grass like bay leaf, some that adds seasoning, but is never eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fabulous flavor, but a bit too salty for my taste. Next time I would not marinate overnight, as I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of June 21st. Having never eaten satay before, neither I nor my husband know what it "should" be like. With that said, we thought this was a very tasty dinner. Next time I'd omit the onion and replace it with onion powder since I couldn't taste the onion & you don't wind up eating it anyway, why waste an onion when onion powder would work better? In the future I would used dried lemongrass. I can hear the purists squealing now but honestly...I couldn't taste it. Most of us don't live in a place where fresh or frozen lemongrass is available; mine was in those little plastic boxes in the produce section and I think it was inferior. I'm also not sure I'd use turmeric again. It stained my fingernails a weird pumpkin color :) (It'll wash off!) Lastly I did not pound my chicken, I just cut it into strips and let my husband sort out the cooking times (ha!). Overall we enjoyed this recipe thoroughly, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this tonight with pad thai noodles and the baked egg rolls recipe from this website. I left out the tumeric and cumin just because we dont like those flavors. I added a little fish sauce & lime to the marinade. I only marinated the meat for 1 hour. I grilled chicken and skirt beef on my indoor grill and basted the satay skewers with a peanut satay sauce I made. I lived in Singapore for a year and this was close to what I was looking for!!! Its a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States