Singapore Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I followed the advise of another reviewer and added fish sauce and sesame oil. I substituted chicken broth for the water, and added more of it. First I browned the pork and chicken separately, and removed the meat from the pan. Then I browned the curry powder and some red chile flakes in the remaining oil before adding the vegetables and broth. I parboiled the carrots. I added some bok choy with the bean sprouts, and put the shrimp in at the end and returned the meat to the pan just before adding the noodles. This came out beautifully. My husband and I both loved it and I'm having the leftovers for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Great base recipe. I tried this today and made the following changes after reading the other reviews. I used chickenbroth instead of just water, 2 tbsp. low sodium soy sauce, 2 tbsp. fishsauce, 1 tbsp. sesame oil, and 2 tbsp. curry powder. I also only used chicken and shrimp, instead of all the different meats, and an 8oz pack of noodles. This tasted almost better than would we get at the restaurant. However, next time I will double the spices, sauces, and broth. For people that think something is missing, add the fishsauce and sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Great recipe. I added more water and soy sauce, along with snow peas and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a great recipe. I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKREYENHAGEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coalinga, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
not what I expected. A little bland seems to be missing something but can't figure it out. Some greens of some sort would help it and it was very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Delicious! I made with chicken. Kids loved it... easy, no fuss. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was really good only I thought it was missing something. The heat was just right, maybe a touch more soy sauce? Will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was a disappointing dish. It was a little bit soupy and didn't taste anything like the Singapore style noodles you'd get at a Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I used rice stick noodles. Also, I used a left over pork chop and some shrimp from the freezer. At the end, I heated some oil in my wok, added two scrambled eggs, and before they cooked completely added the noodles, then the rest. It was very, very nearly as good as what I spend $12 an order on at a very good local Chinese restaurant! On my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States