Singapore Chicken Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very good I used a Costco chicken and cut up slices and placed on top of rice and then put tomatores mixture on top. I used the advise of another review an put an orange segments in with rice and really liked the added flavor! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Ooohh this was so good!! The only thing I added was a bit of grated orange peel to the ginger, garlic, and green onion mixture that went into the chicken, and then I added the juice from the orange to the rice. I was thinking that next time I'll add even more orange, but it was really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is fantastic, I had to make parts of it in advance, so I crisped up the chicken in a mix of canola and sesame oil...and I only used 2 breasts and 2 thighs or it would have been too much chicken for me...I will definately recommend this recipe and I'll make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
would you have to use whole chicken? i think that chicken breasts would work just as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was a wonderful dish and the leftovers made even more dinners. I used chopped chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. I altered the recipe slightly, mixing all the ingredients together at the end to almost make a stew. The rice and chicken mixture was really good in tortillas that I rolled up and baked with mozzarella cheese on top. Overall, a very versatile meal that was a great base for other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Mmm, coming from a Singaporean I'd say this is almost like Singapore Chicken Rice but I prefer to use the boxed mix, lulz. But since I didn't try the chicken since having hear bad reviews about it, I only made the rice and I'd say to saute the ginger/garlic/onion, add in the broth, cieve it to remove chunks of ginger/garlic/onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I loved the rice part of this recipe. I make it on a regular basis... but I don't think the chicken was that great... but the rice goes really well with other types of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Okay, I missed the comment about serving with chili sauce as a condiment and suspected it might be served with one. I followed the recipe exactly, though, and it was very enjoyable on its own, easy, and healthy (even without any happy associations because, sadly, we've never been to Singapore). My husband agrees, so this is a new standard in my tried-and-true box. Thanks very much, Blubloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was really craving for Chicken Rice and I found this recipe. I tried it out and the rice turned out GREAT! My husband loved it. The chicken on the other hand, I agree with the earlier review that it is slightly bland if you use only the recipe required amount of spices. I would recommend increasing the spice amount for chicken and if you are adventurous enough add few more spices of your own! Overall, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good! My family really liked this. I wouldn't change anything but I think the chicken needed longer to cook through. I also used this recipe for the traditional chili sauce to go with --Mix together for Chili Sauce 2 to 3 tbsp freshly squeezed lime or lemon juice, 5 tbsp finely chopped fresh red chilies, 5 cloves garlic, chopped, 3 tbsp finely chopped ginger, 1 tsp fine salt, 1/2 cup boiling hot chicken soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States