Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe did not work for me, when I added the 3rd egg is collapsed. I was timing each egg addition and went the entire 5 minutes. I ended up chilling the mixture and rebeating it, but it never reached the volumn I expected -- and barely filled the pie plate. I did use egg beaters-egg substitute to avoid the raw eggs for small kids and pregnant sister-in-law, but that shouldn't have caused the mixture to fall. Used cocoa & oil instead of the unsweetened chocolate. Not sure if I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Schreck Beckler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and not only did every crumb get "gobbled" up, but I've had multiple requests to make it again for Christmas dinner. Follow the directions exactly for adding the eggs. This is well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I made this pie for my fiance who loves chocolate pie. He said that it was very good, but would prefer regular chocolate pie. This is more of a mousse. However, I took some to my work and they ranted and raved about the pie! I am not a big pie person, but I thought the chocolate part was great. Very easy to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Wow can u say wow this was the most delisious pie i have ever made! My whole family loved it.The only thing i did change was i melted the butter with the unsweetened chocolate it worked out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The best thing I have ever eaten! I have access to fresh eggs so they were still warm when I put them in the recipe. I served it for dinner/game night and about 1 a.m. three people had seconds. Very rich and right up my alley! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I did change the recipe: 1 C sugar, 3/4 C butter (I just thought it looked like too much...) It turned out AWESOME. Everyone RAVED. My hubby wants me to make it for his "birthday cake". Beat 5 min after first two eggs, then add other two together, beat another 5 min-- it saves 5 minutes and comes out the same. Beware: the butter makes it get kind of hard in the fridge; set it out for about twenty minutes before serving or it will be thick and chalky. It tastes the same, but not creamy like it should be unless it's had time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars based on the feedback I received from others who ate it, because I personally am not a big chocolate lover. I made it for a co-worker's birthday who is a chocoholic, and she thought it was delicious. So did others in our office who love chocolate, and several of them asked for the recipe. However, when the birthday girl read the recipe, she nearly freaked over the raw eggs. I made the pie exactly the way the recipe called for except that I did use the extra fine sugar that other reviewers had recommended. It was very easy to make and turned out perfect, so I could definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Delicious and easy!!! the five minutes per egg kind of gets you though! Reminded me of a chocolate silk pie, but easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
wow. this is amazing. i used regular sugar and there was not a hint of grittiness, it was very smooth but the second time i made it it was not as smooth, i will use the extra fine sugar next time. it is a VERY rich pie though and very hard to eat one slice!. chocolate lovers will love it for sure. so much better than the chocolate pies made with pudding but very different as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Oh my! Absolutely the creamiest and smoothest chocolate pie I've ever had...even from restaraunts. I did use superfine sugar and there was not a speck of grittiness. This is nothing similar to the pudding-made pies. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States