Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This pie was WONDERFUL! Made it for b'friend's dad's birthday. It set beautifully, and only had a small amount of filling left after using a store-bought Oreo cookie crust. Everyone loved it. In fact it was so incredibly rich that I haven't been able to touch the leftovers! Good thing I have another chocolate pie-lover in the house who's more than grateful for what's left :) Thanks for a terrific -- and EASY -- recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
As a chocoholic, I found this too mildly flavored, hence the middling rating. If I were to make it again, I would increase the amount of chocolate and sugar by at least 25%. I used standard granulated sugar and beat 8 minutes after the addition of each egg; there was no hint of graininess - I see no need to buy a special sugar or to process the sugar if one follows the original instructions on beating time. I would also alter the ingredients to specify 50% unsalted butter. A bit of salt accentuates chocolate flavors, but there is too much in a full cup of salted butter. With a stronger chocolate and less salty flavor, I think I'd happily rate it a '5' . . . but not as the recipe is now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Oh my!!! This is fantastic. I made it for Thanksgiving and nobody wanted the pies. I doubled the recipe to fit in a 13x9 pan. Eggs and butter at room temperature and definately 5 minutes for each egg. For crust I used crushed pecan shortbread cookies and butter, found in the Lush Pie recipe on this site. Very rich and after the big meal, nobody could finish a 3" x 3" piece. With the shortbread crust, this would work well in individual custard cups also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving - it was simply delicious!! Everyone thought it was the best chocolate pie they had ever eaten. I highly recommend you try it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This pie is extremley good. But remember to mix in each egg for 5 minutes. To make it creamier blend the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This pie recipe couldn't be easier! I did make a few changes, but it's all a matter of taste. I used a spring form pan(like what is used for cheesecakes), and gave it a graham cracker crumb crust. Mixed 1 cup of crumbs with 1/4 cup of sugar and mixed in 1 stick of melted butter. Pack it down with your hands or a spatula. Cook at 350 for 15-20 minutes. Regular sugar dissolved is just fine in the warm melted butter for the pie recipe. The 5 minute rule on the eggs is a must! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is a great pie and only requires a few preparation “must dos” go guarantee it turns out perfect. I think the texture of the sugar (or lack there of) is critical. As other reviewers noted, the pie may have a “grainy” texture if regular sugar is used. You do not have to go out and purchase “extra fine” sugar if you have a food processor. I put regular sugar in a food processor and let it go for 7-10 minutes and the result is perfect texture sugar. Check the sugar and process it longer if you detect any graininess at all. I agree that the butter and eggs should be at room temp before mixing. I disagree with some reviewers who cut down on the egg mixing time from the recommended 5 minutes per egg. I believe the 5 minutes is an absolute minimum to obtain that smooth/fluffy texture. I would stretch it to 6 or 7 minutes if you have a hands free mixer. Also, NEVER make this without pasteurized eggs. Even though the chance of salmonella infection by using non-pasteurized eggs is slim, why take the chance? You may not find pasteurized eggs in most “chain” groceries, but they can usually be found in specialty groceries. Finally, the first time I made this, I used a graham cracker pie crust. Sweet overkill? Maybe, but you be the judge. Whipped cream is a must to cut the sweet taste a bit. Garnish with fresh mint leaf. UPDATE 12/23/10. I used extra fine sugar AND I put the sugar in a food processor for 2-3 minutes. Kitchen Aid free standing mixer for eggs @ 7 min. each. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This has to be the easiest pie ever. I'd definitely recommend superfine sugar. I think next time I might put just the smallest hint of a really concentrated instant coffee, but that might just put the recipe over the top as far as richness. As it is, my husband (who would seriously eat an entire pie in one sitting if I'd let him) can barely finish a single piece. A big piece, mind you, but still...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I went to my fiancée's parents for Christmas for the first time- this was the best dessert ever! And SO simple- but I had too much stuff in my fridge so I let it set in the snow- selicious! If you like chocolate you will LOVE this and so will your guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Barnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
WOW!! Soooo creamy! Even better with a chocolate graham cracker crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States