Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Definitely grind the sugar to fine and beat 5 minutes between each egg. It is worth it! Best chocolate pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My kids made this for me as my "Birthday cake". It was rich, not too sweet, and apparently easy to make as my 14 and 9 yr olds had no problem tackling it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is the most awesome chocolate pie. Followed DIZ's ideas on the review and the pie turned out wonderful. Definately use your stand alone mixer, my Kitchenaid is my friend. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is THE BEST chocolate silk pie I’ve ever made and the photo just does not do it justice. The pie is very firm due to refrigeration, but the texture is as smooth as silk and it melts in your mouth like a rich chocolate truffle. To avoid a granular texture, you have to devote a little extra time. First, you need to let the butter come to room temperature (the eggs, too!). Be sure to whip the butter and sugar really well and then let it set for 5 – 10 minutes. This will give the sugar extra time to dissolve. Then whip a second time before adding the vanilla and “warm” melted chocolate. I used my KA and beat each egg as directed. I used a standard pie plate and the filling went all the way to the top of the crust making for a thick, mouth watering piece of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was excited to see this recipe! My grandma made my dad what she called "English Toffee Pie" for his birthday every year while he was growing up. I have only made it a few times and lost the recipe. The changes I make is I use 1 3/4 powdered sugar, 3 oz unsweetened chocolate and put on a crust made from 1/3 cup melted butter, 1 1/2 cups crushed vanilla wafers, and a handful of chopped walnuts. I press it into a 9" pie plate and hang on to a little bit to sprinkle on top. Perfect with whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a no-bake pie. It had a granular texture, even with beating egg for five minutes after each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
delicious..tastes suspiciously close to my mom's french silk pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbud1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Fantastically delicious, but so very sweet. Definitely not for chocoholics (as advertised). I used extra chocolate but next time I will use unsweetened or bittersweet chocolate and less sugar. It was also great as a mousse. I made tarts and chilled the rest of the filling in shot glasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This pie is SO good.... I make this all the time... don't know why Raw eggs get such a bad rap... a raw egg is extremely nutritious, and I've been eating raw eggs for a long time now - as long as the eggs you use are fresh, you should have no problems. I always beat the eggs the full 5 minutes, but never use "fine grain" or food-processed sugar and have never had any grainy texture issues. Could be because the melted chocolate is still warm enough to help dissolve the sugar when I add it. Highly recommend this pie, its always a hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States