Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolynn Pearce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was my change. I bought bittersweet instead of unsweetened. I couldn't remember what type of chocolate the recipe called for. Being that it was bittersweet chocolate I cut the sugar from 1.5 cups to just 1 cup. I used regular organic sugar and did not *extra fine* it. I beat each egg for 5 minutes. It was not gritty at all. My daughter calls this Chocolate Crack Pie. I had French Silk Pie from a cookbook I had years ago and it is still my favorite pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have made this 3 times now and every time it has come out delicious. I would recommend bringing the eggs & butter to room temp first as I have never had a problem with sugar graininess and think that might have something to do with the room temp ingredients. The mixing time is a MUST DO also. I know it's time consuming but it's worth it when this comes out right because my family & friends rave about it. My only other suggestion would be to think about making 1.5 times the recipe because when I make a 9in. pie as is, it's not as thick as I would like - but that could be just me. I have a little bit left over when I do 1.5X but as another user suggested I put it in 2 individual cups for mousse and have a beautifully topped off pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This pie was absolutely delicious! I used regular sugar and brought my ingredients to room temperature as suggested by many. I followed the directions exactly. The filling was smooth and silky...the pie firms up nicely in fridge. This will be one of my go-to desserts for guests, but they must love chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
DELICIOUS!! I didn't use an electric mixer so it gave my arm a workout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I wanted this to turn out right so badly, since this is my husband's favorite...I followed the directions precisely, (including the minimum of 5 minutes of beating for each egg), all my ingredients were fresh, sugar ground down finely in food processor, & butter and eggs at room temperature before beginning. I changed nothing from the original recipe. Even so, the batter was soupy going into the shell and was still soupy after refrigeration over night. If anyone has any insight into what might have gone wrong, I would appreciate hearing it...Until then, my search for the perfect, fluffy chocolate pie goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Burton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Absolutely incredible!! SO glad I read other reviews first, so I knew to use the ultra-fine sugar, that made all the difference (re: the grainy complaints of some). It is so rich, it's like a chocolate mousse. I have been invited to events, with the requirement that I bring this pie. As a person terrified of baking (3rd generation non-baking women, we cook, but do not bake), this fabulous recipe has been added to my regimen for go-to desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband and I made this on Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the party :). We have had several requests to make it again. I went out and bought the extra fine sugar, but then forgot to use it, but we did not find it grainy at all! I made a graham cracker crust and it was good, but my husband said it would have been even better with the flaky crust as the recipe suggested because the graham cracker made it a little too sweet, so that is the only change that I will be making next time! Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Perfect! I took others advice & put the sugar in the coffee grinder so it was superfine. I also beat the PASTEURIZED eggs in one at a time for 7mins. This pie is super dense & chocolaty. also added 1/8 tsp. of salt. I love this & will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States