Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
So Delicious! Beating after each egg is essential, it changes the texture completely. A friend suggested that I use superfine sugar next time to make it even smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Great recipe. Followed recipe to the letter. Used regular sugar and was not grainy. Cannot eat more than one piece. Used 16 onces of REAL whipped cream. Perfect for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This recipe is similar to one I used to use from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook -- but they stopped publishing it because of the raw egg content. Of course, I lost the recipe I had! It's a great recipe. I use a graham cracker crust instead of the regular pie shell. And, the more expensive, finer sugar IS better -- otherwise it can be a bit on the grainy side. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
best ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
This is my Husbands Favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Oh, man! Is this pie ever amazing!! I whipped up three of them for a party, and two of them were eaten before DINNER was served!! It is vital that each egg be beaten for at least five minutes... I actually beat mine for closer to 6 minutes because I have a KitchenAid mixer to do it for me. If you have one, use it. I also used Ultra Fine Sugar so that it would be that much creamier... this is a great recipe! Truly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Absolutely delicious! As other reviewers mentioned - you must beat 5 mins or more after EACH egg. Great texture, amazing chocolate taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I doubled the amount of dark chocolate for the base mixture , and also made a mocha mouse topping with whipped cream, 2 squares of chocolate and instant chocolate coffee. Can't fit into my jeans anymore but my guests were impressed and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Undescribably delicious!!! I could smell my motor burning on my hand mixer after the 2nd egg. This pie definitely encourages me to buy a Kitchen Aid. The first time I made this pie, I beat each egg for almost 5 minutes. I have made this many more times since then and have decreased the time to about 3 minutes with the same results. I didn't have the chocolate baking squares so to equal 4 (1 oz) squares, I mixed 12 Tbls of cocoa powder with 4 Tbls of vegetable oil. Perfect! I used regular sugar but could see where "superfine" would be better. I don't mind the little grittines it had because the taste made up for it. I've never made a creamier or richer chocolate pie and I highly recommend this for those who have a passion for chocolate. Will definitley make this again. Many thanks Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Excellent Chocolate Pie! Enough Said....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States