Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Delicious and easy!!! the five minutes per egg kind of gets you though! Reminded me of a chocolate silk pie, but easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYSHER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
wow. this is amazing. i used regular sugar and there was not a hint of grittiness, it was very smooth but the second time i made it it was not as smooth, i will use the extra fine sugar next time. it is a VERY rich pie though and very hard to eat one slice!. chocolate lovers will love it for sure. so much better than the chocolate pies made with pudding but very different as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Oh my! Absolutely the creamiest and smoothest chocolate pie I've ever had...even from restaraunts. I did use superfine sugar and there was not a speck of grittiness. This is nothing similar to the pudding-made pies. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Excellent Chocolate Pie! Enough Said....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Undescribably delicious!!! I could smell my motor burning on my hand mixer after the 2nd egg. This pie definitely encourages me to buy a Kitchen Aid. The first time I made this pie, I beat each egg for almost 5 minutes. I have made this many more times since then and have decreased the time to about 3 minutes with the same results. I didn't have the chocolate baking squares so to equal 4 (1 oz) squares, I mixed 12 Tbls of cocoa powder with 4 Tbls of vegetable oil. Perfect! I used regular sugar but could see where "superfine" would be better. I don't mind the little grittines it had because the taste made up for it. I've never made a creamier or richer chocolate pie and I highly recommend this for those who have a passion for chocolate. Will definitley make this again. Many thanks Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Great recipe. Followed recipe to the letter. Used regular sugar and was not grainy. Cannot eat more than one piece. Used 16 onces of REAL whipped cream. Perfect for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I doubled the amount of dark chocolate for the base mixture , and also made a mocha mouse topping with whipped cream, 2 squares of chocolate and instant chocolate coffee. Can't fit into my jeans anymore but my guests were impressed and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Absolutely delicious! As other reviewers mentioned - you must beat 5 mins or more after EACH egg. Great texture, amazing chocolate taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This recipe is similar to one I used to use from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook -- but they stopped publishing it because of the raw egg content. Of course, I lost the recipe I had! It's a great recipe. I use a graham cracker crust instead of the regular pie shell. And, the more expensive, finer sugar IS better -- otherwise it can be a bit on the grainy side. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Oh, man! Is this pie ever amazing!! I whipped up three of them for a party, and two of them were eaten before DINNER was served!! It is vital that each egg be beaten for at least five minutes... I actually beat mine for closer to 6 minutes because I have a KitchenAid mixer to do it for me. If you have one, use it. I also used Ultra Fine Sugar so that it would be that much creamier... this is a great recipe! Truly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States