Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was excited to see this recipe! My grandma made my dad what she called "English Toffee Pie" for his birthday every year while he was growing up. I have only made it a few times and lost the recipe. The changes I make is I use 1 3/4 powdered sugar, 3 oz unsweetened chocolate and put on a crust made from 1/3 cup melted butter, 1 1/2 cups crushed vanilla wafers, and a handful of chopped walnuts. I press it into a 9" pie plate and hang on to a little bit to sprinkle on top. Perfect with whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a no-bake pie. It had a granular texture, even with beating egg for five minutes after each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
delicious..tastes suspiciously close to my mom's french silk pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbud1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Fantastically delicious, but so very sweet. Definitely not for chocoholics (as advertised). I used extra chocolate but next time I will use unsweetened or bittersweet chocolate and less sugar. It was also great as a mousse. I made tarts and chilled the rest of the filling in shot glasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This pie is SO good.... I make this all the time... don't know why Raw eggs get such a bad rap... a raw egg is extremely nutritious, and I've been eating raw eggs for a long time now - as long as the eggs you use are fresh, you should have no problems. I always beat the eggs the full 5 minutes, but never use "fine grain" or food-processed sugar and have never had any grainy texture issues. Could be because the melted chocolate is still warm enough to help dissolve the sugar when I add it. Highly recommend this pie, its always a hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Love this pie! don't forget the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Yum! This recipe is everything it claims to be! The hardest part is holding the mixer for so long (I don't have a 'standing mixer'), but WELL worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This pie was WONDERFUL! Made it for b'friend's dad's birthday. It set beautifully, and only had a small amount of filling left after using a store-bought Oreo cookie crust. Everyone loved it. In fact it was so incredibly rich that I haven't been able to touch the leftovers! Good thing I have another chocolate pie-lover in the house who's more than grateful for what's left :) Thanks for a terrific -- and EASY -- recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
As a chocoholic, I found this too mildly flavored, hence the middling rating. If I were to make it again, I would increase the amount of chocolate and sugar by at least 25%. I used standard granulated sugar and beat 8 minutes after the addition of each egg; there was no hint of graininess - I see no need to buy a special sugar or to process the sugar if one follows the original instructions on beating time. I would also alter the ingredients to specify 50% unsalted butter. A bit of salt accentuates chocolate flavors, but there is too much in a full cup of salted butter. With a stronger chocolate and less salty flavor, I think I'd happily rate it a '5' . . . but not as the recipe is now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Oh my!!! This is fantastic. I made it for Thanksgiving and nobody wanted the pies. I doubled the recipe to fit in a 13x9 pan. Eggs and butter at room temperature and definately 5 minutes for each egg. For crust I used crushed pecan shortbread cookies and butter, found in the Lush Pie recipe on this site. Very rich and after the big meal, nobody could finish a 3" x 3" piece. With the shortbread crust, this would work well in individual custard cups also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States