Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband and I made this on Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the party :). We have had several requests to make it again. I went out and bought the extra fine sugar, but then forgot to use it, but we did not find it grainy at all! I made a graham cracker crust and it was good, but my husband said it would have been even better with the flaky crust as the recipe suggested because the graham cracker made it a little too sweet, so that is the only change that I will be making next time! Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Perfect! I took others advice & put the sugar in the coffee grinder so it was superfine. I also beat the PASTEURIZED eggs in one at a time for 7mins. This pie is super dense & chocolaty. also added 1/8 tsp. of salt. I love this & will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
we found it to be very sweet, next time I will cut down on the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
best pie ever, followed directions 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
this pie is amazing! I couldn't find fine sugar, so I did the food processor trick. It was still grainy when I put it in the pie crust, but by the next day it was spectacular! Used a Pillsbury pie crust and did the rest of the recipe exactly as instructed. This is one of my favorite recipes from this website, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I completely messed this up but it still turned out delicious. I pre-baked the pie crust but didn't bake it long enough, forgetting for the moment that the pie wasn't going to be baked. I made the filling, put it in the fridge, and then remembered that the crust wasn't all the way baked. Not wanting to waste the pie, I decided to bake it with the filling. I baked it at 375 for about 20 minutes and then chilled it. Turned out chocolately, creamy, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Words cannot describe this pie. My husband has never looked at me the way he did tonight over eating that pie, and shockingly, he says it's the best thing he has put in his mouth so far. I did the recipe as is, used regular STORE BRAND granulated sugar, and there was absolutely NOTHING "grainy" about this pie - perhaps other reviewers aren't mixing long enough. Thank you, THANK YOU for such a wonderful recipe. It is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly, other than using superfine sugar, since I had it on hand. My only thought was I might try the graham cracker crust next time ... this definitely needs to be kept refrigerated, and cold pie crust just isn't too appealing. 5 minutes per egg with my hand held mixer does get long, but it IS necessary! Filling was nice and thick for a deep dish shell, and texture was perfectly smooth. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Definitely grind the sugar to fine and beat 5 minutes between each egg. It is worth it! Best chocolate pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My kids made this for me as my "Birthday cake". It was rich, not too sweet, and apparently easy to make as my 14 and 9 yr olds had no problem tackling it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States