Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
***I just realized that my recipe was changed. If you can, use fresh finely chopped onions, not dried, and fresh minced garlic instead of or in addition to the garlic powder. I also throw in some finely chopped green bell pepper sometimes. Fresh is just always better to me. And they left out the thyme. Or maybe I forgot it. Who knows? About 1/2 teaspoon in the sauce while its simmering. Yum. ****Just a note, for those of you using the ready-bake noodles, it is NOT necessary and I really don't recommend it. My recipe does not call for it if you look closely. I use REGULAR lasagna noodles and make sure they are fully covered by a watery sauce cuz they will soak it right up. Much better flavor than pre-cooking noodles separate in just plain water!! And use lots of sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
630 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
haven't used this recipe but I have been using dry noodles in my lasagna for years now. You don't need to buy the "new no cook noodles" the old ones work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Easy recipe for lasagna. Not only does it eliminate the boiling of the noodles, but you don't have to add egg and parm to the ricotta like most recipes call for. The only problem that we had was that the lasagna should have more ricotta cheese in it than the recipe calls for. Use at least 16oz or 24 oz. Other than that, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I doubled the sauce, used 1 1/2 cartons of ricotta chees and made it in a deep lasagna pan. My husband thinks it's better than my grandmother's from scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I've never cooked my lasagna noodles, but I'd have to say this is one of the best lasagnas I've ever tasted. My family loved it and it makes a ton. We barely made a dent in it the first night, so I froze half and put the rest in the fridge for leftovers that week. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Had to cook this without the olives due to some picky eaters in the bunch I was feeding. I think it is probably a TON better with them. Used regular old lasagna noodles (without cooking them) and added a little extra water to make sure they cooked. This turned out lovely - I will definitely make it again. Plus it seems like a great recipe for playing with - add spinach to the marinara sauce, using different meats and cheeses, adding onions, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was my first attempt at lasagna and I definitely will make it again! The Italian sausage really gives it zing. Also, it makes it less intimidating cooking the noodles right in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This lasagna was the best! Easy to make and even better to eat. The time I make it though I think I will add more sauce, to me it seemed to be kinda dry but the flavor was great! Everyone loved it and it was better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSmile411

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I was surprised by the flavor of this dish. Very unique and spicey...in a good way. Husband hates lasagna, but loves this. Everyone had 2nds, no leftovers. Family rated the dish an 8 or 9 from 1-10. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was really, really flavorful! I made it exactly as written, with only a few modifications: I reduced the pepper to only 1 tsp. and I prepared it in the morning and it sat in the fridge until it was ready to bake. One thing I read in other reviews was the problem with the ricotta cheese spreading. I found something that was really helpful. Just spread the ricotta onto the dry noodles, before you layer them. It makes it very easy. I used three noodles for each layer and came out using about 8 oz. of ricotta cheese, as called for. Also, I was a tad leery of the olives, because I'm not a big fan. But they really weren't overpowering in this recipe and I didn't even notice them as I ate. I covered it for the first 45 minutes of baking, then I put the rest of the mozzarella on top and baked it uncovered, for another 15 minutes. The pasta was perfectly tender and it was an excellent recipe. This lasagna may become my 'go to'! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States