Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was an amazing lasagne. I didn't put in olives but did put in mushrooms. Thanks! My husband loved it and asked if I could make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was okay, not great. It is the first time I have used dry noodles and they cooked right though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Made this last night with Jimmbo's garlic knots, and it was such a great meal! Loved the addition of the olives. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Sophie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is an easy lasagna recipe that's still very full of flavor! I doubled the recipe and stuck one in the freezer. Very delicious - will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I have been making my lasagna with dry noodles for years. Just use extra sauce. Not being Italian , it is nice to have a authentic list of ingredients. I always use a home made sauce, not jared. Now if I can get an authentic recipe forf the sauce.... I am the Polish cook, trying to cook italian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have never said this about any dish and didn't think it was possible, but the spices in this dish are overpowering. I don't mean spicy (we like spicy); I mean too many spices. It tasted like we were eating an herb garden with a lot of black pepper. And the noodles were a bit chewy, although my husband thought they were ok. This just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Whole family loved this. It was so easy and so good. Even my picky 6-year-old son ate it and was telling me I'm a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe. Even when I was skeptical about the 2 teaspoons of black pepper. I did do one thing different - I soaked the noodles in hot water for 5 minutes because I could tell there was just not enough moisture to soften the noodles. This is a meaty not cheesy dish. It is dryer than we like & spicy due to the pepper I suspect. For us this is not our type of lasagna. We choose this to make together for our Sunday night "event" meal. There are just the two of us and we had hoped to have tons of leftovers for the week which we do but the sad thing is neither of us really want to eat what is "left over". I can't say this is a bad lasagna but like I said we like dripping cheesy lasagna and this is a dry meaty dish. It is what it is but it isn't what we wanted it to be. For us this a 2 star dish but we will give it 3 due to the chance that we missed a step or didn't do something correctly. It did take a whole hour covered to soften the noodles so we could cut them. When we cut into the dish it was "picture perfect" and stood up like you see in the pictures but the flavors were meat and black pepper predominantly. Maybe our San Francisco Bay Area North Beach Italian taste buds got in the way. Maybe this is Italian from a different part of Italy and that's what made it so not our type of dish. If you like a dry non-cheesy dish this is it. Not bad like I said just not what we were looking for. We like more tomato and cheese and less meat and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome lasagna! I made it today and shared with my neighbors. Everyone LOVED it! I omitted the olives, used fresh herbs from my garden and 2 cloves of fresh garlic and a small chopped onion which I added to the meat. I used two 24 oz jars of sauce and rinsed the jars with about 1 cup of water. I also used a 20 oz container of part skim ricotta and would probably use a bit more next time. My pan was a bit larger that 9x13. I used 3 noodles across, leaving a gap in between, then one across the bottom and had 3 layers of noodles. I baked for about 1 hr 20 min, covered with foil. We weren't ready to eat, so I turned off the oven and left it in for about another hour. The lasagna was a perfect consistency and had great flavor. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe - but better if you add red wine instead of water, plus some chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ozzychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States