Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is the BEST lasagna ever! my family tore it up! Yum Yum Yum! I left out the olives because 2 of my kids won't eat them. I also used fresh onion as the post had corrected. (but used 1/2 C) I put in 1/2 C extra water and 2-23 oz. Prego Marinara Sauce - because another post thought it was dry. One more change - being a Wisconsin girl, I love my cheese so I used 2-15 oz.Frigo whole milk Ricotta cheese - PERFECT! The best lasagna Ever! I fed 5 hungry people and have enough for another meal. I made Garlic Knots (off this site) to accompany the dish. Can't get any better than this! Thank You 4 your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My second attempt at lasanga...used the green peppers and onions...delicious. First attempt from recipe I had to cook the noodles this is so much easier and comes out great. For whatever reason I had to use double the ricotta cheese...hard for me to spread...just incase any other beginners are attmepting. Aslo two and a half regular size jars but my skillet wasn't big enough so becarful if you are using 28 ounces...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanabchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was an amazing lasagne. I didn't put in olives but did put in mushrooms. Thanks! My husband loved it and asked if I could make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was okay, not great. It is the first time I have used dry noodles and they cooked right though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Made this last night with Jimmbo's garlic knots, and it was such a great meal! Loved the addition of the olives. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Sophie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is an easy lasagna recipe that's still very full of flavor! I doubled the recipe and stuck one in the freezer. Very delicious - will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I have been making my lasagna with dry noodles for years. Just use extra sauce. Not being Italian , it is nice to have a authentic list of ingredients. I always use a home made sauce, not jared. Now if I can get an authentic recipe forf the sauce.... I am the Polish cook, trying to cook italian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Smart Blade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I have never said this about any dish and didn't think it was possible, but the spices in this dish are overpowering. I don't mean spicy (we like spicy); I mean too many spices. It tasted like we were eating an herb garden with a lot of black pepper. And the noodles were a bit chewy, although my husband thought they were ok. This just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Whole family loved this. It was so easy and so good. Even my picky 6-year-old son ate it and was telling me I'm a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe. Even when I was skeptical about the 2 teaspoons of black pepper. I did do one thing different - I soaked the noodles in hot water for 5 minutes because I could tell there was just not enough moisture to soften the noodles. This is a meaty not cheesy dish. It is dryer than we like & spicy due to the pepper I suspect. For us this is not our type of lasagna. We choose this to make together for our Sunday night "event" meal. There are just the two of us and we had hoped to have tons of leftovers for the week which we do but the sad thing is neither of us really want to eat what is "left over". I can't say this is a bad lasagna but like I said we like dripping cheesy lasagna and this is a dry meaty dish. It is what it is but it isn't what we wanted it to be. For us this a 2 star dish but we will give it 3 due to the chance that we missed a step or didn't do something correctly. It did take a whole hour covered to soften the noodles so we could cut them. When we cut into the dish it was "picture perfect" and stood up like you see in the pictures but the flavors were meat and black pepper predominantly. Maybe our San Francisco Bay Area North Beach Italian taste buds got in the way. Maybe this is Italian from a different part of Italy and that's what made it so not our type of dish. If you like a dry non-cheesy dish this is it. Not bad like I said just not what we were looking for. We like more tomato and cheese and less meat and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States