Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the way I like to make my Lasagna. However, if I have the time, I make the sauce from scratch. I use, pork chops, steaks, sausage (Beef or Turkey). I usually do the sauce the day before the cooking. I never used the "No-Cook" noodles until my girlfriend told me about it. The first time it was a little dry, I had sauce on the side. However, from then on I I always made sure I put extra sauce in the lasagna so the noodles had more then enough to absorb. One other thing I do is to try and make sure all spices are fresh. Especially the garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasowl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingburg, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The recipe doesn't say if it is necessary to buy the special "no cook" lasagne noodles or if this recipe is adapted to the regular noodles. I don't want to risk wasting all these ingredients until I know for sure. But it looks delicious and worth a try once the question is answered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
to those who thought this was too dry... do what good italian restaurants do: prepare as is, heat extra sauce on the side, serve the individual servings in a "pool" of sauce. leftovers can easily be tightly wrapped in plastic wrap, then foil, and frozen for a quick heat and eat meal later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend, who LOVED it. He's a bit of a picky eater, but he devoured this. When I told him I could freeze the leftovers, he refused, and wanted to eat it breakfast lunch and dinner til it was gone! I omitted the olives though. I had to cook mine for longer than the recommended time, and it took me quite a bit longer than 20 min to prep. But it's definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My go-to lasagna recipe! This is hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clcasas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
this does not take 1 hour to make! too much meat, directed sauce - not enough. this was very dry. i would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this for my first homemade lasagna and I actually received applause from my husband and 2 daughters LOL It was delicious!! We did use sage sausage though because our commissary didn't have Italian so we left the sage spice out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I made exactly as directed (except the fact that i used venison ground instead of beef) and it came out perfectly!!! wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was really, really flavorful! I made it exactly as written, with only a few modifications: I reduced the pepper to only 1 tsp. and I prepared it in the morning and it sat in the fridge until it was ready to bake. One thing I read in other reviews was the problem with the ricotta cheese spreading. I found something that was really helpful. Just spread the ricotta onto the dry noodles, before you layer them. It makes it very easy. I used three noodles for each layer and came out using about 8 oz. of ricotta cheese, as called for. Also, I was a tad leery of the olives, because I'm not a big fan. But they really weren't overpowering in this recipe and I didn't even notice them as I ate. I covered it for the first 45 minutes of baking, then I put the rest of the mozzarella on top and baked it uncovered, for another 15 minutes. The pasta was perfectly tender and it was an excellent recipe. This lasagna may become my 'go to'! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Served this for dinner last night and everyone RAVED about it. I used less pepper and real onions. Other than that, everything else was the same. I assembled it one night and cooked the next night for dinner guests. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States