Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Years ago someone told me not to cook the lasagna noodles, it wasn't necessary (she was a school cook and a really good one), and she was right. In fact I usually make two and put one in the freezer for another time. Works out great, and sure saves time. I never put the black olives in mine but I think I'm going to try that, sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I mix eggs,black pepper and riccota together and it makes a quick and tasty cheese sauce to use in lasagne. Use in place of riccota cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used the regular noodles, but the noodles were not quite done after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
If you opt to make this with no cook noodles, just know they do not freeze well, rather, they just turn to mush. So, you must eat it up within a few days. I made that mistake once, and it's too costly, and too time consuming to use those noodles and freeze them, then not be able to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Instead of cooking the noodles or leaving them dry, soak them for 20 minutes in the hottest tap water you can get. It's a nice way to use traditional noodles if you are not a fan of the no-boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The sauce has a really good flavor, but I suggest cooking your lasagna noodles before you put it all together. I will do that next time. But all in all, it was very good. I also added chopped bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is more of a modern version than a traditional version. I'm disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I love the touch of black olives. For noodles, I prefer fresh pasta...lasagna sheets (as opposed to noodles) are terrific and add a great texture to the dish. I will even add a couple of extra sheets with just a dab of sauce to stick them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the way I like to make my Lasagna. However, if I have the time, I make the sauce from scratch. I use, pork chops, steaks, sausage (Beef or Turkey). I usually do the sauce the day before the cooking. I never used the "No-Cook" noodles until my girlfriend told me about it. The first time it was a little dry, I had sauce on the side. However, from then on I I always made sure I put extra sauce in the lasagna so the noodles had more then enough to absorb. One other thing I do is to try and make sure all spices are fresh. Especially the garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasowl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingburg, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The recipe doesn't say if it is necessary to buy the special "no cook" lasagne noodles or if this recipe is adapted to the regular noodles. I don't want to risk wasting all these ingredients until I know for sure. But it looks delicious and worth a try once the question is answered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States