Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have been looking for a "traditional" lasagna recipe for a while. Simple is better! A woman at my work makes it with this recipe and it is great! However, I prefer more ricotta, so I doubled the ricotta. Also, I was unable to spread it well, so I'm not sure how one can spread it with what the recipe calls for - I would suggest making very thin layers. Also - because my layers were thicker - I used half of the lasagna noodles. The original is definitely a keeper, but if you like the flavor of ricotta, then I say double it. I would not alter this recipe, as it is very simple and traditional, which is what I prefer. Adding too much "extras" is just another meal. And I was nervous about the spicy sausage making it taste different than the traditional flavor, but it was actually quite perfect! I've deleted all other lasagna recipes, as this is exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Loved it! Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Wow!!!! This was absolutely wonderful. I made it for the 4 of us and everyone complained they didn't get enough, so, I made it again the next day. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this for my wife and niece today. They both agree, my first try at this recipe was scrumptious and eager to have more. College student (niece) took some home for later. I did use fresh onion and garlic instead of dried flakes. I also used a bit too much marinara sauce, about 42 oz or so, will cut back next time to 30-36 oz. I feel like an Italian chef - pretty good for a Pa Dutchman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Made this and will make again. I soaked the pasta in water for 20 minutes and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Wonderful! My husband and I both loved this. I'll be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegirlinjeans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Recipe is easy to follow, and if you don't have all the spices, it still works really well. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
delicious but a bit salty. next time I will use fresh garlic instead of powder and I used fresh onion and basil instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Very yummy. Next time I will double the amount of marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was a great recipe! I did however, make some minor changes and preparation did take an hour..I am not sure how you could do this in 20 minutes. I did as others said and decreased the pepper to 1 tsp, added 1/2 cup of water to the sauce. Added a can of spinach as I wanted to get rid of it, and some fresh sliced mushrooms. Also put a little sauce in the bottom of the pan before adding it to the meat sauce. As I read it the meat sauce was supposed to go in the bottom. This didn't make sense to me. Would add a bit of salt next time, and use fresh onion. This time was in a bit of a rush. Baked covered in foil, then broiled the cheese a bit once it was done. The end result was perfectly cooked, well-formed and delicious. With caesar salad and garlic bread, it looked like it came from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States