Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this a long time ago and saved the recipe....going to do it again....maybe the reason everybody adds more sauce is because the recipe says two 14 ounce jars marinara---is that a typo? Couldn't even find that size at store.......Most standard jars are 24 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very good, I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Added spinach and removed olives. Used some spicy sausage too for more heat. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Would make again in a heartbeat. So easy to throw together and i love that you don't have to cook the noodles. I know it seems scary but they really do cook in the lasagna itself. Makes you realize you could probably do that with any lasagna. The heat and moisture from the layers of sauce and meat soften the noodles and the time spent in the oven takes it the rest of the way. I think next time i'll leave out the sausage and sub with more ground beef. I felt the sausage flavor took over the others too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly....my family really does enjoy it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Thought this turned out great and so much easier not boiling the noodles first. WHO KNEW? My husband is a huge Lasagna fan and was so excited I made this for him. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have been looking for a "traditional" lasagna recipe for a while. Simple is better! A woman at my work makes it with this recipe and it is great! However, I prefer more ricotta, so I doubled the ricotta. Also, I was unable to spread it well, so I'm not sure how one can spread it with what the recipe calls for - I would suggest making very thin layers. Also - because my layers were thicker - I used half of the lasagna noodles. The original is definitely a keeper, but if you like the flavor of ricotta, then I say double it. I would not alter this recipe, as it is very simple and traditional, which is what I prefer. Adding too much "extras" is just another meal. And I was nervous about the spicy sausage making it taste different than the traditional flavor, but it was actually quite perfect! I've deleted all other lasagna recipes, as this is exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Loved it! Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Wow!!!! This was absolutely wonderful. I made it for the 4 of us and everyone complained they didn't get enough, so, I made it again the next day. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this for my wife and niece today. They both agree, my first try at this recipe was scrumptious and eager to have more. College student (niece) took some home for later. I did use fresh onion and garlic instead of dried flakes. I also used a bit too much marinara sauce, about 42 oz or so, will cut back next time to 30-36 oz. I feel like an Italian chef - pretty good for a Pa Dutchman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States