Simply the Easiest Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
If my husband could give this a 10, he would, and I totally agree. I made a reduction for the brisket with the juices, cider vinegar, garlic salt, butter, pepper, worcestershire sauce and a couple tablespoons of brown sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was very good, I enjoyed it, my wife thought it was fantastic. I intend to use this as the basis for my next brisket, but will think hard about how I can add some complexity into the flavor. Perhaps a careful study of the other reviews will inspire me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
we've made this for multiple parties and it gets rave reviews! we typically end up pulling the meat instead of slicing. it's a little quicker. Also, we've been cooking closer to 7lbs and we don't add much more marinade, if any. cook time is also about the same or perhaps a little longer. cutting larger briskets in half helps keep the time more similar to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The only problem I see with this is the cooking temperature. I followed the recipe but cut the temp to 200 and cooked in all night. It was falling apart the next day and was so moist. I sereved it at our Labor Day cookout and got tons of compliments. Next time I will use my favorite bar b que sauce since this one didn't seem to have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
ok seriously. easy brisket. i grew up in the hill country in texas, and i am paticular about brisket. my pops used to make this for me all the time when my friends and i would go down to the guadalupe river all day, and be starving upon our return. simple. take your brisket (untrimmed), put it in a baking bag, fat side up, with a small bottle of your favorite italian vinaigrette. bake it at 325 or so for about three or four hours, depending on the size. it will be falling apart when it's ready. great with bbq sauce, as tacos, add it to eggs for breakfast, whatever you like. add any extra flavor you like on top of it before cooking, spice rubs, garlic cloves, onions... but you don't need to. if you don't find this delicious, you're doing something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rilz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I had never cooked a brisket before, and was expecting a house-load of hungry people over for a birthday party. As some of my guests were from Texas, I knew I could not fool them into consuming a sub-par roasted piece of meat. After stumbling across this recipe and all of it's helpful comments, I think I definitely held my own. I opted not to cut the fat off (per a smart reviewer's suggestion), and to roast the brisket in beer/ beef broth with minimal ingredients (onions, red pepper flakes, salt/ pepper). After roasting, the fat was easily removed and the meat easily shredable. Placing all of the meat and juices in the slow cooker, I then added my own sauce composed of fire roasted tomatoes, red pepper, onion, garlic, cilantro, *small* amount of sugar, and (most important ingredient) a small can of chipotles in adobo. What a success...everyone (including the Texans) asked what my secret ingredient was (chipoltles), and how I got the meat so tender. I will definitely use this method again in the future for other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was a good recipe, but not great. Next time, we are going to add a little more beer and water, then a little less chili sauce. I found it too spicy for my taste. The brown sugar content could be reduced in half and cooking time shortened. Thanks for the recipe, it was our first with a brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made this for a crowd and everyone loved it! Used the same amount of marinade using 1/2 c brown sugar for a 5 1/2 lb brisket. Will be serving again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great recipe, everyone enjoyed the meal. I also, as previous reviewers suggested, cut the sugar and used dark brown sugar and the Heineken beer... couldn't have asked for a better brisket. Thanks PMARRIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teppa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is SUPER good! I didn't have jarred chili sauce, so I used a recipe from this site. Used splenda brown sugar where both called for sugar. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States