Simply the Easiest Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
ok seriously. easy brisket. i grew up in the hill country in texas, and i am paticular about brisket. my pops used to make this for me all the time when my friends and i would go down to the guadalupe river all day, and be starving upon our return. simple. take your brisket (untrimmed), put it in a baking bag, fat side up, with a small bottle of your favorite italian vinaigrette. bake it at 325 or so for about three or four hours, depending on the size. it will be falling apart when it's ready. great with bbq sauce, as tacos, add it to eggs for breakfast, whatever you like. add any extra flavor you like on top of it before cooking, spice rubs, garlic cloves, onions... but you don't need to. if you don't find this delicious, you're doing something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rilz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I had never cooked a brisket before, and was expecting a house-load of hungry people over for a birthday party. As some of my guests were from Texas, I knew I could not fool them into consuming a sub-par roasted piece of meat. After stumbling across this recipe and all of it's helpful comments, I think I definitely held my own. I opted not to cut the fat off (per a smart reviewer's suggestion), and to roast the brisket in beer/ beef broth with minimal ingredients (onions, red pepper flakes, salt/ pepper). After roasting, the fat was easily removed and the meat easily shredable. Placing all of the meat and juices in the slow cooker, I then added my own sauce composed of fire roasted tomatoes, red pepper, onion, garlic, cilantro, *small* amount of sugar, and (most important ingredient) a small can of chipotles in adobo. What a success...everyone (including the Texans) asked what my secret ingredient was (chipoltles), and how I got the meat so tender. I will definitely use this method again in the future for other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was a good recipe, but not great. Next time, we are going to add a little more beer and water, then a little less chili sauce. I found it too spicy for my taste. The brown sugar content could be reduced in half and cooking time shortened. Thanks for the recipe, it was our first with a brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made this for a crowd and everyone loved it! Used the same amount of marinade using 1/2 c brown sugar for a 5 1/2 lb brisket. Will be serving again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great recipe, everyone enjoyed the meal. I also, as previous reviewers suggested, cut the sugar and used dark brown sugar and the Heineken beer... couldn't have asked for a better brisket. Thanks PMARRIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teppa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is SUPER good! I didn't have jarred chili sauce, so I used a recipe from this site. Used splenda brown sugar where both called for sugar. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Too sweet . . . even after reducing the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. (The chili sauce which is only spicy ketchup already has sugar in it.) I think 1-2 TBs brown sugar would be better. As others have noted, mine was also dry. I think this has to do with trimming the fat layer since I've never had this problem when leaving the fat layer on. Finally, other beer braises for beef use some beef stock and much more beer. Both would have helped here. Still, the idea of using chili sauce with its characteristic kick in the braising liquid is very clever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was a big hit with my family! I cut up half a bell pepper with the onions (just cause I had one that I needed to use), and added 1 TBSP of minced garlic to the liquid. As far as brands go, I used Kroger brand chili sauce and Amber Bock beer. I think I will try this same recipe the next time I do a Pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
what do you do with all the extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This came out absolutely fantastic! I had never made a brisket before, and this recipe was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States