Simply The Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very rich and very chocolate, more like a brownie to me, serve with ice cream is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
So quick and easy and so chocolatey! I've been making this for years but I save the chocolate chips (I use a whole bag) and nuts and pour them on top of the cake batter after I have poured it into the pan. Just press them down to lock them in place. It's a great cake to bring to cookout or pot luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
It tasted - "old"... even with fresh ingredients. Not much of a chocolate flavor. Not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is one of my favorite go-to recipes when I'm short on time &/or energy :) I got this out of my TOH mag years ago, & have made it numerous times. There are a couple of differences though, my recipe uses instant pudding, a whole bag of chips, & calls for a 10 x 15 pan. For so few ingredients & so little time to prepare, this recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
loved it...nice to eat so much chocolate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is a recipe I have been using for years (minus the pecans because of a nut allergy) due to my husband's egg allergy. My husband would give it 5 stars. If you can have eggs, the cake might leave you a little unimpressed, but it's still good and it's easy to make (hence the 4 star rating). It's even better when you frost it with chocolate or caramel frosting. It's important to note that you really do have to mix the instant pudding with the milk before adding it to the cake mix and the cake comes out better if you let the instant pudding set first (5 minutes in the fridge is sufficient). You do not need to cook the pudding for this to work. I have used similar recipes with yellow cake and vanilla pudding, carrot cake with vanilla pudding (I added a couple spices to the pudding), and pineapple upside down cake (the yellow cake & vanilla with a little pineapple juice added) just to name a few. The cakes turn out well for the most part and are very dense and moist -- good for sheet cakes, but not for layer cakes. My oven always seems to take a longer time to cook than stated in recipes, so i use the toothpick test to know when the cake is ready. This is an easy cake to make with only a few ingredients if you have someone in your family with an egg allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I had not read the four reviews before I made this cake. But,I was in a hurry and when I started puting it together I thought that it might need oil and an egg. So I added those. And the instant pudding did not have to be cooked,so I just put it in with the cake mix. Then I baked it in a 12 inch cake pan and added pecans,brown sugar,and cinnamon on top that I had from another cake.After baking I put home made vanilla iceing on top. My husband said it just might be the best chocolate cake that he has eaten.I'm glad I experimented. It probably wouldn't have turned out as well without the oil and egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
this was absolutely dissapointing. The cake didn't rise, it was super dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This is quick and easy and good but not "simply the best" chocolate cake recipe. I've made it in a 9x9 for a thicker cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
My 15-month-old daughter is allergic to eggs. We bake a lot of cakes and cookies with my three-year-old, so I have searched for easy, eggless recipes that actually have a decent texture and taste good. Not easy! This recipe is just what we needed. It makes a nice, dense pudding style cake. Not light and fluffy, but heavy and chocolatey. (No crunchy edges and wet middles like when we try egg replacements that don't bind well.) One hint: use smaller chips than the large "chunks" I tried the first time. Also, instant pudding will work if you don't have cook & serve -- just heat on stove. REVISED: If you are allergic to eggs, I would no longer recommend this recipe. There have been too many recalls of commercial cake and pudding mixes. Search some of my other reviews for alternatives. If allergies aren't a concern, then this recipe is an easy way to get a dense, pudding-style cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States