Simply Steamed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was great, I used thin asparagus and tossed it in olive oil, and garlic before streaming it and then added a few slices of lemon for zest, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I steamed asparagus for about 6 minutes (plain water works fine) then transferred to a fry pan with olive oil. Sauteed for about a minute or so, adding sea salt, cracked black pepper and a little garlic powder. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I didn't use the butter or salt for diet reasons. Cooked 8 minutes and shut off heat and let sit in steamer to keep warm till the rest of the dinner was on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
very good. didnt add the butter to the water though. Instead I seasoned it after with onion powder, garlic powder, and salt and olive oil. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Quick and easy way to prepare asparagus! It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is how I've prepared my fresh vegetagles all of my life. Tomorrow I'll fix my asparagus this way. I recommend it to anybody. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Worked Well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was my first time steaming anything, and my first time cooking asparagus. This recipe was a great base, though I agree with other reviewers that adding the salt and butter to the steaming water is just a waste. I made this as a snack so I could try steaming asparagus. (: I knew I wanted more of a kick of flavor rather than just plain steamed asparagus, so I sautéed about a teaspoon or two of minced garlic (I love garlic so I pretty much just put a dollop of it in) and a pinch of salt in about 3-4 tablespoons of butter in a separate pan. ((Be careful to not brown the garlic however, as it gets bitter.)) I drizzled this onto my steamed asparagus, but still wasn't satisfied with the amount of flavor, so I followed Josie's advice and put the juice of half of a lime on there. It was absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this again, though I might try sautéing the asparagus in the butter mixture after steaming, and maybe adding some more spices. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Just made it and it tastes fantastic. Simple and elegant! Oh just for kicks I did add two crushed garlic cloves to the water. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gogogirl2go

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States