Simply Steamed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Simple perfection! Thank you! We have been steaming Asparagus for years without consistant results. This will do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We like the thin tender asparagus, and it only takes 2 1/2 mins to steam, take off heat and let stand 1 min. or so, place on serving plate and then a quick rub with the end of a refrigerated stick of butter over them (you don't need to add extra salt if you use salted butter). Butter in the water is a useless waste of butter. For garlic lovers, a slice or smashed garlic in the water is also great. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Simple. Nice for light flavor, but a bit bland for those who like a bolder flavor. Might be better with a bit of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I didn't measure the ingredients. I added olive oil and extra salt and butter after steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used raspberry vinaigrette instead of butter and drizzled a little lime juice in the water before boiling. A little pepper when fully steamed. Tasted fabulous! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed the asparagus. This will be way I fix for now on, except when I put if on the grill. Thanks KimRaej
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejoy
Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was good but 10 minutes was nowhere near enough time for it to be cooked. Next time I will steam it for at least 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
lose the butter....Asparagus tates fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lastrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dixon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Adding salt and butter to the water in the steamer is pointless. Add it to the asparagus at the end if you want to actually flavor them. The only part of the butter that will evaporate and penetrate the asparagus is the water within.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Asparagus is so simple to make and doesn't require anything fancy to taste great. I steam my asparagus like this in just a little bit of water, and then no steamer basket is needed. Then, once it is a bright green color I saute it in a tad of olive oil for about a minute and sprinkle with a little salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States