Simply Steamed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I didn't use the butter or salt for diet reasons. Cooked 8 minutes and shut off heat and let sit in steamer to keep warm till the rest of the dinner was on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
very good. didnt add the butter to the water though. Instead I seasoned it after with onion powder, garlic powder, and salt and olive oil. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Quick and easy way to prepare asparagus! It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is how I've prepared my fresh vegetagles all of my life. Tomorrow I'll fix my asparagus this way. I recommend it to anybody. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Worked Well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was my first time steaming anything, and my first time cooking asparagus. This recipe was a great base, though I agree with other reviewers that adding the salt and butter to the steaming water is just a waste. I made this as a snack so I could try steaming asparagus. (: I knew I wanted more of a kick of flavor rather than just plain steamed asparagus, so I sautéed about a teaspoon or two of minced garlic (I love garlic so I pretty much just put a dollop of it in) and a pinch of salt in about 3-4 tablespoons of butter in a separate pan. ((Be careful to not brown the garlic however, as it gets bitter.)) I drizzled this onto my steamed asparagus, but still wasn't satisfied with the amount of flavor, so I followed Josie's advice and put the juice of half of a lime on there. It was absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this again, though I might try sautéing the asparagus in the butter mixture after steaming, and maybe adding some more spices. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Just made it and it tastes fantastic. Simple and elegant! Oh just for kicks I did add two crushed garlic cloves to the water. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gogogirl2go

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is the quickest way to fix asparagus and also my favorite way.... I do add some Parmesan cheese before I serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I simply steamed the asparagus for 8 minutes and lightly salted and peppered once on plate. No need for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States