Simply Potatoes® Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a BIG hit!!! Even better the next day. I did make a few changes. I used a jar of mushroom gravy in place of the beef and added some sliced mushrooms at the same time as the veggies. Also I used 3 pouches of Betty Crocker instant Garlic Mashed Potatoes. My hubby really liked it and said "I could definately eat this again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was a hit at a potluck with my friends. I couldn't find the Simply Potatoes so I used instant. I don't think they were as good as the other ones would've been, but no one noticed. I added a half a bag of frozen peas and carrots to the mix too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
i was looking for a sheperds pie recipe and this one seemed to be the best. i cooked it for 10 people at work and it was a big hit. i added a few dashes of worchestersihre sauce and a small can of tomato paste. i like ground beef and gravy mixes to be a little tomatoy, not like spaghetti sauce, but with that tomato flavor. i also melted some cheese on top. i didnt broil it like it says for the last few minutes. my only problem was i ran out of potatos, buy an extra container. A++ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I had an adventure with this one; i bought diced tomatoes with garlic and onion accidentally instead of the plain. I used canned veggies instead of frozen. I used a packet gravy mix and I couldn't find the Simply Potatoes so I used instant, and surprisingly, everything came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was a very simple recipe. I had everything on hand, and managed to throw it together fairly quickly. I used herb and butter seasoned instant mashed potatoes, and took the advice from other reviewers and topped it with cheddar and mozzarella cheese. I don't think I have ever had shepherd's pie without cheese on top. When I make this next time I will cut down on the thyme (think I might have put a little more than recipe called for), and definitely add more salt and pepper. Overall I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
SO Easy and really turned out tasty. Kids really loved it which is a bonus. I used Heinz jarred beef gravy which I wasn't too sure about but tasted good. I used garlic salt instead of thyme and I used garlic mashed potatoes. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was fantastic!! Everyone told me "this is a do again" (how we rate new recipes). I did make a couple changes based on what other posters suggested: 1/2 the thyme, cheese on top of the potatoes (prior to broiler), cream of celery soup, and a little extra salt and pepper. Also, the store I shop at does not carry the Simply Potatoes mashed potatoes so I substituted them for another brand of refrigerated potatoes. Very easy and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was so simple and sooooo good! It was gone that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is a very good recipe for Shepherd's Pie. You can definitely taste the thyme pretty strongly. Next time I'll use just a bit less of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I used canned vegetables instead of frozen and added peas and carrots. I also added a small amount of cheese on top for a little extra flavor. I thought 1 tsp. of thyme was a bit too strong. Next time I'll only use 1/2 tsp. of thyme. Otherwise it was a great meal and my family and guests loved it. It made plenty for 5 (with leftovers)and I had enough to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States