Simply Potatoes® Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was a hit at a potluck with my friends. I couldn't find the Simply Potatoes so I used instant. I don't think they were as good as the other ones would've been, but no one noticed. I added a half a bag of frozen peas and carrots to the mix too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
i was looking for a sheperds pie recipe and this one seemed to be the best. i cooked it for 10 people at work and it was a big hit. i added a few dashes of worchestersihre sauce and a small can of tomato paste. i like ground beef and gravy mixes to be a little tomatoy, not like spaghetti sauce, but with that tomato flavor. i also melted some cheese on top. i didnt broil it like it says for the last few minutes. my only problem was i ran out of potatos, buy an extra container. A++ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Yesterday I thought Shepherd's Pie was actually a pie. A coworker suggested I try it, and this recipe was great! I used canned vegetables and omitted the gravy because it just didn't sound good to me. I used a store brand butter & herb instant mashed potatoes, and added some garlic salt and pepper. I didn't broil it, and next time I plan on adding cheddar cheese to the top. My fiance and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I used canned vegetables instead of frozen and added peas and carrots. I also added a small amount of cheese on top for a little extra flavor. I thought 1 tsp. of thyme was a bit too strong. Next time I'll only use 1/2 tsp. of thyme. Otherwise it was a great meal and my family and guests loved it. It made plenty for 5 (with leftovers)and I had enough to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was a very simple recipe. I had everything on hand, and managed to throw it together fairly quickly. I used herb and butter seasoned instant mashed potatoes, and took the advice from other reviewers and topped it with cheddar and mozzarella cheese. I don't think I have ever had shepherd's pie without cheese on top. When I make this next time I will cut down on the thyme (think I might have put a little more than recipe called for), and definitely add more salt and pepper. Overall I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is a very good recipe for Shepherd's Pie. You can definitely taste the thyme pretty strongly. Next time I'll use just a bit less of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
We haven't ate it yet but I was tasting it through the cooking process and I thought it was delicious. Would be really easy with frozen/canned veggies and if I could have found the jarred beef gravy. I'd never heard of that so made my own brown gravy from the packets for it. I tried it before and after the thyme and I think it might have tasted better without it, to be honest - but it's still really good. I guess it depends on what sort of gravies/potatoes etc you use. One thing I will say is, I cut this recipe to feed four people (about a pound burger), and I've ended up having to use an extra casserole dish and with enough food for probably 9 people, comfortably...and we're not lean eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a BIG hit!!! Even better the next day. I did make a few changes. I used a jar of mushroom gravy in place of the beef and added some sliced mushrooms at the same time as the veggies. Also I used 3 pouches of Betty Crocker instant Garlic Mashed Potatoes. My hubby really liked it and said "I could definately eat this again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a great success! As usual, I made some changes, based on what I had on hand...I used regular 'ol instant potatoes w/some garlic powder, replaced the can of tomatoes with a can of cream of celery soup, and used frozen mixed veggies. This was quick and easy and even the picky kiddos liked it ("ooh, gross" changed to "hey, yummy" as soon as the first bite was taken)! I served this with homemade Easy-Peasy Crescent rolls (I just submitted the recipe today) and there was barely enough left for my hubby's lunch tomorrow. Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was such an easy recipe, and so good! The whole family loved it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States