Simply Potatoes® Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a very good recipe. Comfort food...I made as recipe stated but added extra potatoes. The only thing I would consider changing is maybe a little less thyme. Very kid friendly too. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twnzmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was so simple and sooooo good! It was gone that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
SO Easy and really turned out tasty. Kids really loved it which is a bonus. I used Heinz jarred beef gravy which I wasn't too sure about but tasted good. I used garlic salt instead of thyme and I used garlic mashed potatoes. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was fantastic!! Everyone told me "this is a do again" (how we rate new recipes). I did make a couple changes based on what other posters suggested: 1/2 the thyme, cheese on top of the potatoes (prior to broiler), cream of celery soup, and a little extra salt and pepper. Also, the store I shop at does not carry the Simply Potatoes mashed potatoes so I substituted them for another brand of refrigerated potatoes. Very easy and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I had an adventure with this one; i bought diced tomatoes with garlic and onion accidentally instead of the plain. I used canned veggies instead of frozen. I used a packet gravy mix and I couldn't find the Simply Potatoes so I used instant, and surprisingly, everything came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was such an easy recipe, and so good! The whole family loved it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was a great success! As usual, I made some changes, based on what I had on hand...I used regular 'ol instant potatoes w/some garlic powder, replaced the can of tomatoes with a can of cream of celery soup, and used frozen mixed veggies. This was quick and easy and even the picky kiddos liked it ("ooh, gross" changed to "hey, yummy" as soon as the first bite was taken)! I served this with homemade Easy-Peasy Crescent rolls (I just submitted the recipe today) and there was barely enough left for my hubby's lunch tomorrow. Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a BIG hit!!! Even better the next day. I did make a few changes. I used a jar of mushroom gravy in place of the beef and added some sliced mushrooms at the same time as the veggies. Also I used 3 pouches of Betty Crocker instant Garlic Mashed Potatoes. My hubby really liked it and said "I could definately eat this again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
We haven't ate it yet but I was tasting it through the cooking process and I thought it was delicious. Would be really easy with frozen/canned veggies and if I could have found the jarred beef gravy. I'd never heard of that so made my own brown gravy from the packets for it. I tried it before and after the thyme and I think it might have tasted better without it, to be honest - but it's still really good. I guess it depends on what sort of gravies/potatoes etc you use. One thing I will say is, I cut this recipe to feed four people (about a pound burger), and I've ended up having to use an extra casserole dish and with enough food for probably 9 people, comfortably...and we're not lean eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is a very good recipe for Shepherd's Pie. You can definitely taste the thyme pretty strongly. Next time I'll use just a bit less of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States