Simply Potatoes® Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
These potatoes were really good. I have made a similar recipe for years using frozen hashbrowns. I find that the Simply Potatoes are easier to mix with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Everyone's favorite side this past Mother's Day dinner. Used 2 cups sour creme for a double batch, and added salt and pepper; otherwise stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I love this recipe. One good tip, use a shallot instead of onion. They melt so you get the onion flavor but not the extra crunch. It's great when the kids whine about the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I've been making this since my oldest daughter graduated high school in 2005. Always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
For a pot luck supper, use the hash brown cubes and add a cup or so of frozen peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This came out perfectly and everyone loved it. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We LOVE this recipe!!! So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbuzz82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Served this for our Christmas brunch and it got rave reviews. I didn't follow the recipe exactly: I had a bag of 24oz hashbrowns (instead of 20oz), used the whole 8oz container of sour cream (instead of 3/4c), and used almost a cup of chopped onion (instead of a 1/4c). Also, I cooked it for an hour (instead of 45 minutes). If I made it again I would probably use 1/2c of onion, but my Christmas guests said they really enjoyed the excess amount of onion =) I loved how simple it was to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Baked this casserole for 1 hour and hash browns were not done. I will either increase cooking time or up temp to 375/400 degrees. Liked flavor and ease of putting it together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is my favorite dish in the world. My mother has been making it for years. I get requests for this nonstop! Only change is adding a can of cream of mushroom. OR only cream of mushroom or cream of broccoli if I want to make it vegetarian. Oh and I use Kellogg Crumbs instead of actual cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States