Simply Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
One taste to review, another to "make sure," it's not what we were hoping for. I agree with "tulips*n*truffles" review. The texture is not creamy but thick and eggy, almost grainy. The flavor is a very unpleasant fake lemon from the lemon extract. This could have benefited with just the vanilla extract alone (or even vanilla and real, fresh lemon juice) and two less eggs - one egg per package of cream cheese is always a good rule of thumb. Moreover, there was too much of the sour cream topping for the amount of filling. Very disappointing, since I had covered it with a homemade Meyer lemon curd which had really turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
My aunt and three cousins have Celiac Disease. Since I am usually the dessert maker for family functions I made this so they have a dessert they can eat too among the pies, cakes, and cookies they can't. They love it, and are so happy every time I make it. It's become a regular now that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.JessieP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
no lemon curd and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I'm not gonna punish this recipe for poor results because I did change things. I just want to let others know before they may waste ingredients trying to do what I did. I was going for a lower fat, healthier recipe and subbed neufchatel cheese (low fat cream cheese) and splenda. The result was awful. Also used low fat sour cream in the topping with splenda and that turned out ok. I used "Barefoot Contessa's" lemon curd and it was just awful. I will never purchase that brand again. Anyways...all I'm saying is that this is just one of those recipes that does not adapt well to low fat ingredients. A lot of pricey ingredients to waste on this experiment - just trying to save others from the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I'm one of those people who sees a poor review on a recipe and believes the cook must have done something wrong. :-( This time, however, I'm certain I followed the recipe to a "T" - and it is just not good! The texture of the cheesecake is just awful, and there's no real flavor - at all. Not rich or creamy or anything! I'll make this again only to see what I did wrong - but after this first attempt...ugh. Just not good! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This is good, but if you serve this to anyone with a wheat or gluten allergy, you must cheack the ingredients on the lemon topping, as many of them use a food starch, modified food starch, or wheat starch, which takes it out of the gluten free group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Simply awesome -- had my doubts about the "no crust" part, but I was pleasantly surprised and so were the rest of the people at dinner. Simple, no fuss and tastes great -- a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Fabulous! I used it as a topping for a cheesecake and my da ONLY tasted the top and said, "Wow! This is delicious!" Lovely consistency and perfect sour-sweet combo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phatfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I modified slightly by adding 1 additional pkg cream cheese and using 3 eggs. Fabulous!! I'll make this often. I made my own lemon curd (recipes on allrecipes.com, of course) which is easy and quick. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Great recipe! I have just added zest and juice of 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States