Simply Elegant Steak and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was fantastic and I never would have thought of it. Instead of just boiling the rice I sauté d onions and garlic in olive oil in a large pot, added in rice and a little more olive oil and then sautéd it all until the rice got that nice nutty smell. Then added in water and cooked as usual. Didn't have round steak but used some leftover sirloin and instead of garlic salt I used freshly minced. Had no sherry so substituted sweet Walter red and mixed in a bit of onion soup mix. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vitalani R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
great recipe! I recommend doubling the cream of mushroom soup and use 1/2 cup of sherry to deglaze the pan after browning the meat. My family has been making this for years and has always been one of my favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Naro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Very tasty. Since I was trying to stretch this meal and listened to comments about the limited amount of sauce, I added 1 1/2 cups of beef broth at the same time as the other sauce ingredients, plus an extra helping of fresh mushrooms. Next time I will cut down a little on the garlic salt and use fresh garlic instead since the broth added plenty of saltiness. Cooked everything about 45 minutes, and that was enough time to tenderize the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is good, but by no means "elegant." It's strips of round steak in a brown sauce over rice. I used fresh garlic and mushrooms. I also didn't have any sherry I googled to see what could use to replace it. I used mostly dry vermouth, with about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. It could have used more of the balsamic or something to give it more of a kick or tartness. Definitely a great starter recipe, but anyone whose cooked for awhile will have their preferences on what to add or how to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
We really liked this one, however I did make a few modifications: I omitted the canned mushrooms (I have 2 kids who dislike mushrooms), and to replace the liquid from them, I added about 3/4 cup lite (reduced-fat, NOT fat-free) sour cream instead, near the end of the cooking time. I didn't have sherry but had a similar cooking wine (white) I used instead. I also added about 2 tsp. of minced garlic to the meat/onion mixture as it cooked, instead of using garlic powder in the soup/mixture. VERY yummy! I love how VERY quick and easy this recipe is, and uses stuff I pretty-much always have on hand. I used my rice-cooker to make Jasmine rice, which made this recipe even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was quite good and a great way to use round steak. My husband liked it and I will make it again. I used 2 T Worcestershire, 2 t garlic, 1+ cup sherry, and 2T olive oil for the marinade. I threw in some Italian Seasoning during the marinade with real garlic. I marinaded about 3 hours because I had the time. I did use 1 can cream of mushroom soup. I did not use the liquid in the mushroom can (I drained it) and I didn't need it. If I were to add water I would mix 1/2 c beef broth in it but with the extra sherry I added, I had enough liquid. I simmered low for 45 min. and then added frozen peas for an additional last 5 min. (50 min. total cook time.) Although it was very good and I did add an onion, next time I might add a little onion soup mix for additional flavor. We used rice but also would be good with fettucine noodles or like a stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Ten year old picky daughter loved it. I think it needed something else. Not sure what though. Like others suggested, I used fresh mushrooms and fresh garlic. I will make this again but keep tweaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Made this exactly as is and it was pretty good. 4 stars because it didn't blow me away but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Not bad, nothing great either, but wouldn't call this 'elegant'. Gets points for an easy weeknight meal. Even with added herbs, still tastes like what it is...round steak and canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I had left over rice and left over steak so I threw together this sauce and it was delicious! I love the sherry in this - it makes it so tasty. 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States