Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I am a dunce at baking bread but this turned out great! I did proof the yeast before combining it with the flour and I added a few tablespoons of vital gluten, as well as increasing the percentage of whole wheat flour and adding some 7-grain cereal to the mix. My only difficulty with this bread was that I should have baked it longer. I left it in the oven for 35 minutes but it was still a little doughy. Wonderful taste though and it rose beautifully. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Amazing bread. Easy to make. I used this recipe to make bread for the first time and it came out just wonderful. It's slightly sweet, but you can still toast it and have with eggs or just spread on some butter and enjoy plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is the best loaf of wheat bread I have ever made. I only made one loaf and froze the other two. We'll see if they are as perfect as the one just made. This is definitely a recipe to put in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 12 servings/1 loaf to make in my bread machine. I used 1 cup warm milk, 2 1/4 tsp yeast, 4 tbsps honey, 2 tbsps butter melted, 1 tsp salt, 1 c all purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup Robin Hood Omega 3 plus flax whole wheat blend and 1 tbsp vital gluten. Used 3 lb, light crust and whole wheat settings. Enjoyed this bread will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
It is very nice taste at the end. My impression is that it is sweet and although I like it, because of the family and more neutral flavor I use sesame pasta in step 2 instead of honey. Also, I have better results if I leave more time to grow. In step 3 I use 3-4 cups of wholegrain flour. My ideal time for baking is around 32 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Very good. I roll it into small baguettes and cook it until it is nice and crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've made this several times and it is perfect every time. I used 2 cups all purpose flour and 3 cups white whole wheat flour for the first part, and 3.5 c of white whole wheat for the second part. I make 2 loaves and cut into 16 slices each. Around 135 calories a slice for those who care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnaTerewai
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made this with the vital wheat gluten, I added that in with the yeast and warm water. I followed all the rest of the instructions. It turned out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaTerewai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple View, Waikato, New Zealand
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My kids say this is the best bread they have ever had, and the 3 loaves rarely last longer than 4 days in my house (I have alot of kids though). The first time I made it I had never made bread in my life, and I wanted to use flax meal also. I subbed 1/2 cup of the whole wheat for flax meal. I don't think I had enough moisture because my loaves didn't rise well. Regardless the bread was delicious and got eaten, was just very dense. The second time I started with 3.5 cups of water and everything turned out perfectly. I am going to try adding more whole wheat flour and less bread flour over my next several times of making this bread, however want to get bread making down as I have now only made it 2 time in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Incredible, delicious! I did not have honey and used molasses instead. It was perfect, just a hint of sweetness but not cake-like. Be patient with rising, everyone. It sometimes takes longer than the suggested time to rise, depending on your climate, elevation, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amethyst42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States