Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Ah-Ma-Zing! I've never made bread before, but WOW this was so good. I used the trick I found in one of the reviews to turn on the oven for 1 minute, then turn it off and put in the dough to rise. It doubled in no time flat. Next time I will try increasing the wheat and reducing the bread-flour like others have done, but only for the health benefits. This was super-yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mekaret27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Honey should not be heated above luke warm temperature (more like 40-50 celsius) otherwise it releases a toxin. Suggest substitute like maple syrup, brown sugar, jaggery? I have not tried this recipe with the substitute though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I literally just popped these out of the oven and they are really good! I was certainly surprised because this was my first try at whole wheat bread. I used half of each ingredient and tried even less of the white flour (used about 2 cups).I substituted the honey for brown sugar since I had none being that this was a quick whip up. My next batch of these will hopefully be next weekend and I'll be going for only whole wheat flour. I saw some great suggestions from other bakers which I will surely keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I halved the recipe... It made 2 medium size loaves. The consistency is very good. U can easily slice and use as sandwich bread. I used White Whole Wheat flour and I used vegetable oil instead of butter. It's a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Just yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
difficult to get to rise. flavor a little sawdusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I had never made bread before finding this recipe, but I wanted to give it a try. Simple is definitely correct. I had no trouble making the bread. It came out perfect and delicious. My family loved it. It actually kind of reminds me of the bread they bring to the table at Longhorn, especially when you toast a piece and smear it with butter! So good! It's time consuming, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it with white wheat flour because my kids like the taste better, and it is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and the bread turned out beautiful. I froze two loaves and when I thawed them, they were as soft and moist as the fresh loaf. My only suggestion is that you should always knead bread for at least 10 minutes, this helps immensely with the rising process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is an incredible recipe. I have just started baking my own bread, and wasn't always happy with the results. with a couple of minor tweaks, this one is just about perfect. I start with whole wheat or multigrain bread flour - 5 cups mixed in with the water, yeast and honey, with 4 to 5 tablespoons of essential gluten. Then I use white bread flour in the second step. The dough rises beautifully, handles like a dream and I always get 3 good sized loaves - sometimes a little extra for some freeform rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States