Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by AnaTerewai
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made this with the vital wheat gluten, I added that in with the yeast and warm water. I followed all the rest of the instructions. It turned out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaTerewai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple View, Waikato, New Zealand
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My kids say this is the best bread they have ever had, and the 3 loaves rarely last longer than 4 days in my house (I have alot of kids though). The first time I made it I had never made bread in my life, and I wanted to use flax meal also. I subbed 1/2 cup of the whole wheat for flax meal. I don't think I had enough moisture because my loaves didn't rise well. Regardless the bread was delicious and got eaten, was just very dense. The second time I started with 3.5 cups of water and everything turned out perfectly. I am going to try adding more whole wheat flour and less bread flour over my next several times of making this bread, however want to get bread making down as I have now only made it 2 time in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Incredible, delicious! I did not have honey and used molasses instead. It was perfect, just a hint of sweetness but not cake-like. Be patient with rising, everyone. It sometimes takes longer than the suggested time to rise, depending on your climate, elevation, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amethyst42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe except that I used all whole wheat flour and added flax, hemp and sunflower seeds. Turned out great! I'll use this as a basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I follow the recipe as it states and its so good. My picky eaters even love this bread. I also love that it makes three loaves because they get eaten quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This bread is delicious! My husband isn't a huge wheat bread fan and he couldn't get enough of it. The butter on top is a wonderful idea and the sweet and salty flavors balance nicely. I got 2 loaves out of it, not 3, which is just fine by me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Five stars even though it isn't truly whole wheat bread. I followed directions exactly, and it is delicious! I make bread in the bread machine weekly but this is the first time doing it all by hand and it turned out perfectly. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
When it said you may end up adding 2-4 cups more of flour, I probably only added a cup and a half more at that point. I put a shallow layer of hot water in the sink in put the bowl and then the pan in the water when the dough was rising. I may divide the dough in 2 instead of 3 for bigger loaves next time. The bread turned out fluffy, soft, with just enough substance and sweetness. Really good stuff and directions were straight forward to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The best! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Just made this recipe. Made 3 great loaves of bread. Have been looking for a good recipe for a while. Next time I'm going to make 1/3 of the recipe in my bread machine. Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States