Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I did this soooo many times,so I thought hey why not comment? THE BEST!simple, fun and good. Just, this only makes me 2loafs (I like BIG bread) so I was a bit disappointed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this yesterday after seeing the recipe. I found the powered gluten and was so happy to use that. I think I added a little bit too much flour as even my kitchen aid had a hard time. I failed to see it said add 2 cups first then more as you go. But it was delish, and I think I ate half the loaf myself. Gave one to my friend and the other in the freezer. Best recipe!!!Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a great recipe, I was very impressed by the results. Soft enough that it is a delight to bite into and yet just the right density and chewiness. I did grind my own whole wheat flour and used raw honey and it yielded fantastic results. I was a little skeptical after the dough was kneaded as it seemed a little too soft and wet, but it worked out just fine. I did follow another reviewers tip for it rising in the oven and it worked splendidly. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mastic Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made a vegan version based on this recipe, substituting the butter with coconut oil, using spelt flour instead of whole wheat, and exchanging the sugar with the same amount of equal-parts light agave nectar and grade A maple syrup. It turned out very delicious! Best bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerulean Lotus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is a very forgiving recipe and amenable to a lot of changes. The first time I made it, I made no changes excepting I never use bread flour, adding 3T. of gluten. The crust and crumb is lovely for slicing and toasting. Since the first time, I add all the ingredients excepting the AP flour, proofing the yeast while the butter melts and the honey pours. Then mix and let the whole mess rest for about 30 minutes. I then knead in the AP flour via mixer then by hand. Oh, I also use only about 3 cups of AP flour increasing the whole wheat or substituting ground oatmeal. I don't bother with the melted butter at the end. This has become my standard whole wheat recipe, thank you Nita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is a great recipe, made two loafs and the last loaf I made buns. They were perfect for sandwiches and will be awesome for burgers. Making this again for guests at our B&B, it's that good! Will use it for stuffed French toast and just plain old toast. Nothing better than homemade with a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is good, and the whole and white flour combo gives it a great texture and flufiness. If yours didn't come out right, there's a reason for every scenario. No bread is "fool proof." Even if you're new to bread baking, there are helpful sites where you can troubleshoot your bread issues, such as baking a "brick." Did you do the window pane test? Did you over mix the dough? That's why home baking is so awesome: it's not the exact same thing each time. It's not cheaper to bake at home. We do it to ensure that we are eating wholesome ingredients and, simply for the fun of it. Good luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Awesome Recipe! Makes wonderful sandwich bread! I also use the dough to make runza's and stromboli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I am new to making bread. I have made rolls before but not bread. I followed the recipe as written and it came out perfect. I made 2 regular bread and one cinnamon raisin bread. The recipe is very easy to follow and easy to make. Mixing it with a mixer helps make it easier. This is the recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abby
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
it turned out okay considering I've never made bread before. I did not have honey, but used Karo syrup. I think I did not knead the bread correctly so I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States