Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Written as is, I only can give this bread 3 stars, with my alterations, absolutely 5 stars! It was alarmingly sweet, and all that sugar is so unnecessary to make a good bread! To start, honey and sugar are a 1:1 ratio in baking, being said I usually use white sugar, but the measurements would be the same for honey. I cut the sugar(honey) down to ONLY 1/4 cup. I added it in at the first step with the yeast and followed the directions as is. After it proofed, I added in the wheat flour with the salt mixed in, (omitting the second 1/3 of honey completely) and replaced melted butter with olive oil. After it was baked I brushed it with the tiniest amount of butter, maybe 1/4ts per loaf, and was more than enough (this step is only for crust texture, we are not buttering the bread for flavor!) This is my new favorite bread, and I will be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Excellent recipe. Stays soft and wonderful. I kneaded in 1/4C of rolled oats, 2 TB sesame seeds and 2 TB of chia seeds for a wonderful grainy seed bread. Do this at the end of the 1st rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Sabra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
LOVE THIS BREAD!!! It makes 3 large loaves. Its sweet, but made with honey not white sugar so I'm ok with that. It is a bit time consuming, but TOTALLY worth it. We LOVE LOVE this bread. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe! I followed MommyFromSeattle's advice and added 4 Tablespoons of Vital Wheat Gluten to the dough. I added it with the 5 cups bread flour. The bread had a great texture and brilliant rise. I used two 12"x4.5" loaf pans and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
What I love about this bread recipe is that there are so many variations possible. I can make it savory, sweet, plain, anything I want. Sometimes, instead of baking 3 loaves, I'll bake 2 and use the remaining dough to make cinnamon rolls. I kneaded this by hand, which was kind of difficult, but it all worked out. If it's a cloudy day and there's no warm spot, I turn the oven to 350 for 45 seconds then put the dough in to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anh N

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This bread came out fantastic. I would make this over and over again! I cut the recipe in half incase I didn like the bread and I ended up using whole wheat flour for the whole recipe. Since wheat flour is a bit denser I ended up using less flour. Otherwise my measurements were 2.5 cups wheat flour at first mixed with 1/4 oz yeast, 1/6 cup of honey and 1 1/2 warm water. The mixture will be sticky at first so I let it ride for a good 30 minutes. I pressed it down and added about 1 1/4 cup wheat flour, 1/6 cup honey, sprinkle of salt, and 1 1/2 tablespoon honey. I kneeded the dough and let it rise for a good hour. I kneeded the dough one last time in my bread baker and let it rise for one hour in a warm area and baked it on 350 for approximately 25 mins. Melted one tablespoon of butter I poured over and sprinkled with rolled oats. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Linn
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This bread is the BOMB. I love it as is, but my DH is picky, and his complaint is that it's too crumbly for a sandwich. It might just be the environment in my kitchen when I made it. I tried adding a homemade dough enhancer - wheat gluten, potato flakes, and a very small amount of white vinegar - and it came out PERFECT. It held together with very little crumb. This is definitely now my go-to bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Great recipe! It is first bread that turned out perfectly! On my taste it was too sweet for me, so next time I will reduce the amount of the honey. Otherwise, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Whole wheat bread is made only with whole wheat flour, this is a hybrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Menendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ajparker159
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This is my first bread. I made this last night and didn't follow directions. it was a fail. I just made it again and followed directions exactly and this bread is amazingly perfect. I'm pretty proud of myself and this recipe is pretty awesome for ham sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States