Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
First time bread maker ... and it turned out great :) Used wholegrain bread flour, little less honey and yeast than called for. And used a dough hook in electric mixer to knead for about 10min before kneading for a minute by hand. Brilliant results, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is a great whole wheat sandwich bread! It's pretty sweet, so I might cut down on the honey a little bit next time, but the kids won't leave it alone. The first time I made it, I made three loaves, but this time I made two large loaves, instead of three, because it's easier to eyeball breaking things into equal halves than thirds. These are the most beautiful loaves of sandwich bread I have made! They are a perfect color and shape. I baked them for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Good recipe..good texture, great for toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was simply an amazing bread, and I have made a lot of breads in twenty years. I did make a change---my honey was solidified so I added an egg to make up for lack of liquid (I have found the solidified honey as a sweetener makes really good bread). I also halved the recipe and mixed in my bread machine because my machine couldn't handle that much flour. I ended up with two loaves (after mixing in machine and let rise for an hour and half I shaped the loaves and let rise for another hour). My boys loved the slices with butter and I made sandwiches with the extra loaf. Great sandwich bread, I have to say! I am thinking would make really good toast also. Will have to make again to try for breakfast toast (; Great texture, held up well slicing. Definitely going into my bread rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
LOVE this recipe! I have made a commitment to bake all my bread to help reduce processed foods and this one is super easy and delicious! It is very forgiving and I have used all kinds of flours. If I do use all whole wheat, I add 1 TBSP of Vital Wheat Gluten ( a powder) to the dough for each cup of wheat. This adds more protein and helps the bread rise properly. I make 2 big loaves and my kids eat it up for sandwiches, morning toast, afternoon snack, whatever! We love this bread. BONUS: the house smells great when I bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Delicious and easy! I will be making this every weekend and storing extra loaves in the freezer - no more store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Best whole wheat bread I've ever made and I've been baking bread for almost 40 years. No, it's not 100% ww flour for you purists. But it does have a high content of ww flour, and the recipe lends itself to whole grain additions (flax, wheat berries, etc.). I used my Kitchenaid to knead the dough and was just amazed at how this dough rose considering the large amount of ww flour. I may add gluten next time, as some suggest, but I wonder if that's even necessary. The resulting loaf, recipe as written, is light, moist, slightly chewy, with just the right density, and not bitter. I hate to admit to a slight recipe change, but the fact is, I've made hundreds of loaves of bread, so I know that no plain eating bread requires 2/3 c of honey or other sweetener, so I used 1/3 cup, and it was plenty. I let the first rising go an hour while I took a walk. Came back to a mountain of dough overflowing the large bowl in my proofing oven. Second rising took just 30 minutes, and it was huge too. I made two loaves because I like big ones. I will absolutely keep this recipe and make it over and over again. Just fantastic. Thank you to the contributor for sharing this unbelievable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe for my very first attempt at bread making. Easy and delicious! Already looking forward to making it again and maybe adding some seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
First time bread maker here: Just made it and it tastes delicious! I had a few bumps along the way but all in all it was fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is a good recipe only if you want a sweet bread, otherwise decrease the honey. I loved it. Mine rose into lovely big loaves only to deflate when I put down on the counter. Not sure if that was the fault of anything other than my being too rough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States