Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I "veganized" this recipe by using 1lb of finely shredded carrot instead of the honey and omitting the butter. Added some rosemary, sage and thyme and it turned out really, really deliciously. I've found this is a great base recipe for making herb-infused breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
This was first time I made bread and it turned out great! I added 3TBS sunflower seeds and 3TBS flax seed to mine. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lane Elizabeth
Photo by maria
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Its been successful when i just follow the directions of making this whole wheat bread and its delicous and thank you so much for All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This bread is DELICIOUS! Thank you for making me look good when I bake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe. I adjusted the servings to 12 (divided by 1/3) for one 9x5 pan and found it to be perfect when baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I added about a half-cup total of different seeds and ground flax (and decreased the bread flour), and it was delicious. Next time, I will taken another reviewer's advice and make the full amount, freezing 2/3 after the first rise. Thank you, Nita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
It was alarmingly sweet, and all that sugar is so unnecessary to make a good bread! I cut the sugar(honey) down to ONLY 1/4 cup. I added it in at the first step with the yeast and followed the directions as is. After it proofed, I added in the wheat flour with the salt mixed in, (omitting the second 1/3 of honey completely) and replaced melted butter with olive oil. After it was baked I brushed it with the tiniest amount of butter, maybe 1/4ts per loaf, and was more than enough (this step is only for crust texture, we are not buttering the bread for flavor!) This is my new favorite bread, and I will be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Excellent recipe. Stays soft and wonderful. I kneaded in 1/4C of rolled oats, 2 TB sesame seeds and 2 TB of chia seeds for a wonderful grainy seed bread. Do this at the end of the 1st rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Sabra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
LOVE THIS BREAD!!! It makes 3 large loaves. Its sweet, but made with honey not white sugar so I'm ok with that. It is a bit time consuming, but TOTALLY worth it. We LOVE LOVE this bread. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This is a great recipe! I followed MommyFromSeattle's advice and added 4 Tablespoons of Vital Wheat Gluten to the dough. I added it with the 5 cups bread flour. The bread had a great texture and brilliant rise. I used two 12"x4.5" loaf pans and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
What I love about this bread recipe is that there are so many variations possible. I can make it savory, sweet, plain, anything I want. Sometimes, instead of baking 3 loaves, I'll bake 2 and use the remaining dough to make cinnamon rolls. I kneaded this by hand, which was kind of difficult, but it all worked out. If it's a cloudy day and there's no warm spot, I turn the oven to 350 for 45 seconds then put the dough in to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anh N

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States