Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Moist and delicious! I doubled the spices, but not the salt and rubbed them both under the skin and all over the outside. I still wanted the flavor to be a little stronger. The skin was just so good. I didn't have any drippings left when it was done, but I bet a gravy would have been great with these flavors. It was so good either way and I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
great recipe! Doubled the spices and put a quartered onion in the chicken. I put the spices on 2 hours before cooking and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Tasted great. Nice crispy skin and moist inside. However, what a mess it created! The high heat made the fat sizzle, and coated the oven with grease, which then started smoking. The whole house filled up with smoke and set off the smoke detector! And the oven will take awhile to clean. I'm not sure if it will come out the same covered in aluminum foil, but I'll have to do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Takes a long time to make and requires entire recipe even small ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've made this chicken for 2 years now. The seasonings are excellent and the method results in a very moist meat with a crunchy, crisp skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My oven was clean. The 500 degrees was to hot, the 450 degrees was to hot. The alarm went off the fire truck came. The chicken was delicious! Should have given the firemen some chicken! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I came across this recipe when I wanted something different to do with a whole chicken. Too late I realized the spice rub should sit overnight on the chicken but decided to go ahead and just cook it that same day. This came out very moist and tender and the skin was nicely browned and crunchy, yes I know its not healthy but I did eat some of it. I did bake this in a 375 oven in a foil lined casserole dish for about 2 hrs. as my smoke detector would have been going off way to often with the higher temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe! My chicken was partially frozen so I cooked it a little longer than suggested, I mixed the spices with 2 T softened butter, then rubbed it on the chicken.I also turned it over after 30 minutes to allow the breast to brown. Gravy made with the pan drippings had great depth of flavor from the spices..A wonderful Sunday supper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Without a doubt the BEST roasted chicken I have ever tasted! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I followed the directions and the chicken was so tender and moist. Delicious! But, I had to throw away my Calphalon baking pan. Nothing would get it clean after hours of soaking with this and that. I used foil at the bottom of the pan, but the juices leaked through. What a disaster. And the high-temp baking combined with the grease smoked up my kitchen. So, based on the above, I'm giving it only 3 stars. There are other cooking methods that produce a tender and delicious chicken. If I ever make this again, I'll use a disposable pan, and I'd lower the oven temperature. The spices were surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States