Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
very good. the flavors are good with a nice change from the "normal" chicken flavors. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBG
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Loved this recipe. It was so easy. I did double or triple the spices and rubbed the inside of the chicken with them as well. In addition to those spices, I went the savory route as well adding garlic powder, smoked paprika, turmeric and black pepper. I didn't baste the chicken while it was baking. Instead I waited till I took it out of the oven, basted it several times, then let it wait the 20 minutes the recipe called for. The breast meat was very tender and juicy. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've used this rub on my whole chickens numerous times. My husband thinks his rub is better than this, but he's wrong. One day we will have a cook off for friends and family to decide. Without a doubt, this recipe will win! The first few times I made it I followed the recipe to a T, although I doubled the recipe because I didn't feel like there was enough to fully cover the chicken. Since then, I purchased a rotisserie and make it that way. It helps keep the temp down in the kitchen. I'm not lying when I say this is the best tasting chicken I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Everyone loved it. The 5.5 lbs chicken was succulent and cooked to perfection. May use a little more salt, next time. Doubled the spices per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
perfect timing in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have made this chicken several times and I love it. I double the spice mixture. Then I cut out the spine of the chicken and lay it in the pan, breast down. Then I rub the spices under the skin of the bird. Drizzle olive oil on top (the inside cavity that is now face up). Roast it at 450 degrees for 20 min, then 425 for 15 min, 400 for 15 min until done. Crazy temp, I know but it ALWAYS comes out so tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sconley123
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Made this 2 nights ago. The temp was way too high and the chicken smoked up my house. After all of that it wasn't nearly done all the way through. I will try this again with adjusted temps. Flavor was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Awesome recipe, double seasonings like others said... Sooo yummy!! If I bake whole chicken, this is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I followed the recipes as is but cooked the chicken on a terra cotta vertical poultry roaster. It took an additional 20 minutes to reach 180 (but that could be my ovens fault) and I let it rest for 20 minutes. It came out perfect. I especially like the recipe it included spices that you normally find in any kitchen. I hand raise my chickens and we occasionally give some away as "gifts". I will be including this recipe in the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I doubled the spices too. I mixed 1/2 of the spices with cloves for the inside. Outside just the spices were rubbed on. Wonderfully moist and delicious. Fridged for only 5 hours. Will be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States