Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
AMAZING!!! That's all I can say! I have roasted hundreds of chickens in the past, but none as good as this. I had a whole cut-up chicken that I seasoned, and I didn't have time to marinate 24 hours. I doubled the spices, but everything else I followed exactly. This is the only way I will roast chicken from now on. Oh, and I put cut-up potatoes and carrots in the bottom of the baking pan and put the chicken pieces on top of those before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
All I can say is WOW! Absolutely delicious. I made a 5 3/4 pound chicken. So I doubled the ingredients. I rubbed under the skin and on top of the skin. Cooked at 500 for 20 minutes, 450 for 20 minutes and 425 for 30-35 minutes. Was perfect! My 8 year old ate 2 legs and said "He wished chickens had 3 leg's"! But he then ate some of the Breast which was very Juicy. Thanks for the great recipe. This is one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Easy to make and was delicious.. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey Gleichenhaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Just made this for the 2nd time - same excellent results - however my husband smoothered it in barbecue sauce to get more flavor. So maybe I won't go through the work again though it is very moist - excellent - turned over near the end to brown better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
i prepared this last night and it was great! my wife and daughter loved it! i also doubled the seasonings. (except for the salt) i added 2 cut up russet potatoes, 1 cut up sweet potato (should have used 2), 4 stalks celery cut in 1/3rds and 3 cups of baby carrots..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawns1ton

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Completely amazing recipe. My family of four loved it so much, my son asked to have it prepared for his birthday dinner. We like it even better after the leftovers were removed from the bone and sauce/drippings were poured over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My husband thinks this is the best chicken he's ever tasted and has requested it be a weekly item! I haven't had cloves on hand, so I eliminated those and used season salt instead of allspice (again, only because it's what I had). The nutmeg and cinnamon really does it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great flavor and super moist ! Next time I'll try it as a slow roasted chicken at a lower temperature. The high temps in this receipe made a mess in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The chicken browned nicely. It was moist. My biggest complaint was the splatter of chicken grease and the smoke it created in the 500 degree oven. My oven is a mess and the house still smells like smoke the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My husband calls this the "homerun" of chicken. This is hands down the most delicious and amazingly moist recipe I have ever made! I usually change up recipes a little but this one is absolutely fantastic as is. As shared by previous reviews, I was nervous to put cinnamon and sugar on chicken...but WOW! This has become a family favorite and will certainly make time and time again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexlangley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States