Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My oven was clean. The 500 degrees was to hot, the 450 degrees was to hot. The alarm went off the fire truck came. The chicken was delicious! Should have given the firemen some chicken! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I came across this recipe when I wanted something different to do with a whole chicken. Too late I realized the spice rub should sit overnight on the chicken but decided to go ahead and just cook it that same day. This came out very moist and tender and the skin was nicely browned and crunchy, yes I know its not healthy but I did eat some of it. I did bake this in a 375 oven in a foil lined casserole dish for about 2 hrs. as my smoke detector would have been going off way to often with the higher temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great recipe! My chicken was partially frozen so I cooked it a little longer than suggested, I mixed the spices with 2 T softened butter, then rubbed it on the chicken.I also turned it over after 30 minutes to allow the breast to brown. Gravy made with the pan drippings had great depth of flavor from the spices..A wonderful Sunday supper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Without a doubt the BEST roasted chicken I have ever tasted! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I followed the directions and the chicken was so tender and moist. Delicious! But, I had to throw away my Calphalon baking pan. Nothing would get it clean after hours of soaking with this and that. I used foil at the bottom of the pan, but the juices leaked through. What a disaster. And the high-temp baking combined with the grease smoked up my kitchen. So, based on the above, I'm giving it only 3 stars. There are other cooking methods that produce a tender and delicious chicken. If I ever make this again, I'll use a disposable pan, and I'd lower the oven temperature. The spices were surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This chicken turned out wonderful. I liked that it didn't have a bunch of butter or oil to make it tender or juicy and it was. I am glad I read the recipe yesterday, because I realized it had to sit in the fridge over-night. I lined 13x9 pan with thick foil instead of doing the rack to save on clean-up. It does make the skin come off the breast when it is finished, but I don't eat the skin anyhow. The spice flavors worked fine for winter or December with the cloves, but I might try the salt over-night with spring or summer flavors during other months. The cook time, or method, worked very well I just added 15 minutes at the end to make sure it was fully done to my personal liking. Edit Note: I had written this review before looking at the pan the next day. I decided to add this after reading the next reviewer as I had the same issue. When I removed the thick foil, I had found that the chicken grease some how strangely had seaped through and completely burned up my 13x9 pan I have had for years. After 3 scrubs and ruining the finish I had to toss it. I also would use a disposable pan if making this. It is possible that a few layers of foil might help with this issue, don't know. My 5 star view is purely on ease and the tenderness of the chicken, which I did enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My husband loved this recipe! Even though I had a cold I could taste how good it was.Def making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious, and it smelled so good while it was roasting! Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved the different spices, however cooking at such high temperatures without covering led to overcooked skin. Second time around I adjusted the oven temperature and covered the chicken for the final 30 minutes, came out with perfect skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States