Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and every time it comes out perfect. My 3 yr old who can be picky devours it. Tonight I added potatoes and carrots to roasting pan once I dropped temp down to 425. They came out perfect! I will use this recipe for years to come. Don't let the sugar and cinnamon scare you it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Amazing!! Made this last night and this recipe was super easy to follow. I ended up doubling my spices like others recommended and since I didn't have any ground nutmeg on hand, I substituted for ground ginger. I added half a yellow onion with the crushed garlic inside the cavity of the chicken and roasted as instructed. Chicken was very juicy and moist and the flavors were delicious. My husband and I loved this recipe and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe. I was skeptical at first about the nutmeg and cinnamon but everything worked out great. I did double the spices as suggested and added a packet of Goya Sazon for extra flavor. Also, rubbed some butter under the skin. I'm glad I did this because there was no drippings to baste the chicken with. It burned as soon as it touched the pan. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This makes it taste better. First baste the chicken with olive oil. Add Chinese 5 Spice instead of Allspice. Start at 450° and drop down 25° every 15 minutes until you reach 375°. Then take the chicken out to keep it moist. The MOST favorite chicken of the family! Everyone who tastes this chicken say it is the all time best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 510queen
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Ummm yeah bomb dot com. Anyone who knows me knows I not a cooker. Followed the directions but doubled up and it came out perfect. Nice and juicy. There's no noise right now. ;) Oh I did not marinate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This chicken was amazing!!! I did double up on the ingredients like the other reviewers said. I let it sit overnight and in the morning I put on a second rub on the chicken. Put it into the crock pot and four hours later..totally yummy!!! The chicken was juicy, flavorful and falling off the bone. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The whole family loved this! I did double the spices, and after thirty minutes, I still didn't have any drippings, so I poured chicken broth over the chicken. I also cooked cut up potatoes and carrots on the bottom. They came out perfect. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Really juicy. With the spice rub, it's different and goes well with acorn or any seasonal squash. I didn't get pan drippings -- so I added white wine and chicken broth to the pan and baste. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because of how much clean up effort there is with the carving, bones and pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Tried it this week & it was delicious!! Trippled the spices (except only used 1.5 tsp of salt & only doubled the sugar) for my 6lb chicken. I adjusted the oozing times to be a tad longer & it came out perfect. The 500° cooking period crisps the skin nicely along the chicken to retain its moisture. **Add about a cup of water to the bottom of the pan to prevent tons of smoking & burning!! The fat drippings will burn to the bottom of your pan & smoke up your house** I also sprinkled garlic powder all over the chicken the next day after 24hrs of marinating wrapped in plastic wrap & added an onion along with the crushed garlic in the chickens cavity. Like others mentioned, cooking it breast side down gives you the most tender, moist breast meat! So juicy & wonderful flavor! Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinaC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this for the first time back in September and decided right then to try this with my Thanksgiving Turkey! I had never attempted a turkey or making the big dinner. We had 16 people go nuts for it! I made a new tradition with the family. I did have to multiply the recipe x4. And up the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States