Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I took the skin off and wrapped the chicken in bacon tasted great.We do not like the fat that the chicken has on as it goes into the meat and you can taste the chicken fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Add me to the list of those who had my doubts about the combination of ingredients, but proceeded with preparing it thanks to all the positive reviews. Boy, was I glad I did! This is truly the tastiest roasted chicken I've ever eaten. I removed the backbone to butterfly my chicken. After reading reviews, I doubled the spices except for salt and rubbed under the skin (except for the legs, where I rubbed the spices on top). I refrigerated in a ziplock bag for the full 24 hours. I placed breast side down on a roasting pan sprayed with PAM and added several cups of water to the bottom of the pan. Boy, am I glad I did. There was literally no water (only about a half a cup of drippings) left when I opened the oven to pull the chicken out, so I can see that the pan might have been a bear to clean otherwise. I had no problems with smoking and thanks to the water, the clean-up was easy. Since I added the water, I didn't open the oven to baste. Thirty minutes before my chicken was due to come out of the oven, I put in a pan of cubed sweet potatoes to roast and turned them over after 15 minutes and returned to the oven. They were the perfect side dish. I made the chimichurri sauce for steaks off of this website. We added just a small amount to our chicken and it really enhanced the spices and flavors. My family is asking for me to make it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
My husband and I aren't big fans of sweet mixed with savory, so I was pretty sure we wouldn't like this. He convinced me to try it, though, after telling me it wouldn't be the end of the world if I ruined one chicken. Boy, was I wrong and boy, was I glad he suggested it. I didn't detect any sweetness from the sugar, but the result was so flavorful, juicy and delicious. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very enjoyable, a nice change from my usual herb-roasted or citrus chicken. Since this recipe popped up in my inbox on a day I planned to roast a chicken anyway, I decided to give it a try. I tend to agree with others who think these spices are a little offbeat for a chicken recipe, but I didn't mind it, the chicken was moist and flavorful. Substituted the sugar with honey but otherwise made it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is awesome! Leave the chicken in the oven as you change the temperature. I made this exactly as written the first time. The second time I changed the spices, but kept the exact measurements. My girls weren't sure of the clove, cinnamon combo so next time I used basil, oregano, thyme, garlic powder mix. This is by far the best way to cook a whole chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I found this easy recipe in one of your sample magazines awhile back and just so happens I was making it again tonight when I got the email sharing it. I've shared this recipe with many. Wonderful, surprising flavor, chicken comes out moist and leftovers can be used in many ways. Gotta try, perfect for family and guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is one of my all time favorite recipes! Even with out basting it is moist and delicious! I sometimes flip the bird to let the beast brown and crisp up. I usually skip leaving it in the fridge for 24 hours. I put the rub on and garlic in about 30 min before cooking and to let the bird come more to room temp. My husband and kids give it a big thumbs up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Liked this combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Oven at 500 degrees for 15 minutes burned my chicken, maybe lower starting temp a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This recipe was super simple. The chicken was juicy and delicious. My son and husband have both requested it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States