Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I make this at least once a month and my whole family loves it. Like other reviewers, I double the spices (except salt) and add chopped onion to the cavity. In the summertime when I don't want to turn on the oven, I make this in the slow cooker the same way and simply cook on high for 5 hours. (no liquid needed) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Turned out perfect! Followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Rarely do I ever give reviews - I must say this turned out delicious and so easy. I had to modify a bit due to lack of time and spices.... I doubled all the spices but didn't have all spice or cloves - added garlic and onion powder. Added minced garlic and whole onion in the cavity. I didn't marinade at all as I didn't have time. Rubbed the two 5 lbs chickens that I bought. Placed in my roaster (the one I use for my Thanksgiving turkey) and followed the temp and time to the directions. They didn't brown because of the roaster - but I have never had moist chicken like this before! I have four children and they all tasted it and couldn't wait for me to serve! They loved it!! Trying to get my picky 9 year old to eat chicken is an act of God - this was the 1st time she asked for seconds! I placed mushrooms on the bottom as some other reviews suggested and they were amazing! I also placed chicken broth on the bottom of the pan to prevent burning and smoking - it was awesome! I made a gravy with the left over broth, served mashed on the side with gravy! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Chicken was moist but mushy. I did not care for the clove/nutmeg/allspice smell while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
wow this chicken is so good! i doubled spices and used an amish organic chicken. it sat on mushrooms. only thing is the breast skin kind of stuck to the mushrooms when i flipped it--but this is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Excellent,flavorful chicken. Cooked night before and took to family beach picnic with The Best Potato Salad Ever, from Allrecipes,and it was! Everyone loved it! Made exactly as written,and it looked wonderful! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Wonderful, best chicken I have ever had. I had a hard time with the cooking time and there were no dripping to baste with. I had a 7 lb. farm raised chicken that did not have much fat. So I put some water in the pan and basted it with butter a few times. I also covered it after the skin was nice and brown. I thought it never was going to get done. The wonderful smell was driving us crazy. I have been looking for a recipe for my thanksgiving turkey and this is it. I’m a new member and I’m not sure how this all works but you should repost this for turkey. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. This is one I will keep and pass on:). Also I’m surprised on how someone can change the recipe and rate is with fewer stars because they did not like it. How can you change a recipe and then give it a bad rating when it did not turn out???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
AMAZING!!! That's all I can say! I have roasted hundreds of chickens in the past, but none as good as this. I had a whole cut-up chicken that I seasoned, and I didn't have time to marinate 24 hours. I doubled the spices, but everything else I followed exactly. This is the only way I will roast chicken from now on. Oh, and I put cut-up potatoes and carrots in the bottom of the baking pan and put the chicken pieces on top of those before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
All I can say is WOW! Absolutely delicious. I made a 5 3/4 pound chicken. So I doubled the ingredients. I rubbed under the skin and on top of the skin. Cooked at 500 for 20 minutes, 450 for 20 minutes and 425 for 30-35 minutes. Was perfect! My 8 year old ate 2 legs and said "He wished chickens had 3 leg's"! But he then ate some of the Breast which was very Juicy. Thanks for the great recipe. This is one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States