Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This cake is fabulous! And it actually tastes just like a really good sugar cookie! I doubled the recipe and used 2 tbsp. of vanilla and 1 & 1/2 cups of milk. This cake is moist, dense and above all delicious! Plus it only took 35 minutes to bake. It was perfect for a cookies n cream cake. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is SO WONDERFUL! (Be advised that this recipe as it stands is for a 9x9 cake not a 9x13 large cake.) I "taste-tested" it this past weekend to see if it was good enough to use at my daughters B-Day party... and OH MY GOSH everyone loved it! It is a dense cake, so if you are looking for light and fluffy, keep looking. But If you are looking for really good 'wedding cake' type of cake... here it is! I put on the "Buttercream icing" from LISKAGIRL on this site and it was really good combo!! One person said the cake with the frosting tasted almost like a really good sugar cookie! But it was not overpowering sweet. I followed other reviewers and added an extra 1/4 cup of milk. I also beat the heck out of every step. MAKE SURE you beat the sugar and the butter for 8-10 minutes!! BUT IT IS SOOOOO WORTH IT!! I couldn't keep away from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2668 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe actually deserves 4 1/2 stars. I made it twice in the same night. The first batch was perfect! 5 stars all the way. The batter was rather fluffy. I made it the second time around (I don't think I let the eggs beat as long) The batter was a lot thinner (although both times I added about 1/4 cup of extra milk). After baking, The first batch was fantastic! Great cake, easy to frost. The second time around, however, deserves about 3 stars. As others have said, it had a cornbread type element to it. It was bad, but it was incredibly hard to frost. I made 9x13, 8x11, 9x9, and 4x9 of this cake and it cooked well and evenly in every pan. All I can say is, pay very close attention to the directions, sift your ingredients, and let your eggs beat awhile. If your batter looks somewhat like yellowish coolwhip, you're gonna have a great cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I've long ago learned to be skeptical of the results with white cake recipes. They can be dry, tasteless, or have what some call a similarity to cornbread. I wanted a white cake that was moist, sweet and flavorful, without having to resort to a pound cake recipe, which would be heavier. I wanted a light, fluffy cake with a tender crumb. Butter isn't going to necessarily get you that, nor is a shortage of eggs or sugar. In this recipe I was tempted to reduce the amount of flour, and increase the amount of sugar and eggs but decided to leave it alone, especially for the sake of properly accessing this recipe - except for one small change, which probably was an important one. I used half butter for flavor and richness, and half shortening, to help ensure moistness. Cream the shortening and butter very well with the sugar, a good few minutes, add each egg separately and beat well after each addition. I added the WHOLE milk alternately with the flour mixture, beginning and ending with the flour, and mixing lightly, only enough to combine the ingredients. I made cupcakes, and dropped about 1/2 tsp. raspberry jam in the center of the batter before baking. I frosted them with pink buttercream frosting. I tasted one before I frosted them to make an accurate judgment of their quality. Perfect. Moist, yes moist! Tender, flavorful and pleasantly sweet. The failure or success of this recipe is hugely dependent upon proper mixing technique and not overbaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
972 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sonia
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is by far the simplest and tastiest cake recipe I've ever tried. I like to add a bit extra milk which keeps it soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
736 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I made this twice last week, for both my daughter's birthdays. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, and the cupcakes were a little dry, but still edible. The second time, I upped the vanilla to a full tablespoon and added about 1/8 cup more milk. They came out very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
730 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I thinks it pretty crazy that 1280 people actually reviewed a baking recipe that doesn't have vanilla extract and salt, the two most crucial ingredients. I think this recipe is great with following changes: 1-2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp salt, increase milk to 3/4 cup and use buttermilk if you have it. Also if you want a lighter texture you really need to use cake flour, if you don't have any make you own by replacing 2 tbsp of cornstarch in 1 cup of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
638 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clegg_connie@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Yum! i just made cupcakes with this recipe and they're delicious! I don't know why many people said that their cake was dense and dry, mine turned out fluffy and moist and yummy! This is a great recipe as long as you cream the butter til it's VERY fluffy and light, as well as when you add the eggs. I added a touch more milk, but other than that i followed the recipe exactly. It was great, way better that a mix, it's not as sugary and sticky. Thank you for this recipe, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
As advertised, it is simple to make and easy to change into whatever is needed for the occasion. We started this one off without changing the recipe and it came out nice. Can't wait to start fiddling with it. It's been a nearly a year and we've changed this up a few times for the better. If you want to stick as close to the recipe try this variation out. Add 1 egg yolk, 1 teaspoon of butter flavoring and substitute half and half for the milk. If you have a kithenaid mixer, break out the whip instead of the batter blade. It produces a fluffier batter. Mix it until it puffs up a bit and bake it for the 30-40 mins. We used a 9x9 glass pan. Now if you have gotten to the 40 min mark and the center is still a bit liquidy, turn the oven down to 250 and let it sit on the top shelf of oven for an addtional 10 mins. It will set up well this way and you don't risk burning the edges of the cake. This cake was gone in 1 setting when my in laws dropped in. We've also mixed strawberry jam into the butter/egg mixture and gotten great results and we've done a chocolate version by making the milk into a cocoa mixture. Next up to try will be spumoni. We love to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elsja
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
THis came out PERFECTLY. I added more milk (3/4 cup) per other reviewers' suggestions and I also added some lemon extract and lemon zest to taste. It was the first thing I made in my new kitchenaid mixer and I was very impressed with the results. I made little flower cupcakes in my flower pan and dipped each one in glaze (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Vanilla-Glaze/Detail.aspx) - I added lemon extract to the glaze as well. These stayed moist and delish for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsja

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States