Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
So simple, so easy, so delicious. I made cupcakes and chocolate frosting with this recipe, but plan on using this as a base for many other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
:( Came out extremely flat, not fluffy at all. Not sure why this was such a fail: I guess I didn't beat enough at each step! However, I will be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made cupcakes out of this recipe and liked it very much. My whole family loved it. The problem with making any cake is not to overbeat it. When you add your flour and other ingredients and you keep beating it then the cake becomes tough and dry. When I make breads like pizza as well as sandwich bread I do not use a mixer but I do it by hand so as to get the feel of it because that too becomes dry and tough overmixing. This is a good cake and good for cupcakes. Thank you to the person who posted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My friend doesn't even line cake made the cupcakes he tore them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosaleigh Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I am reviewing this recipe as written with the caveat that I live at altitude. I make a recipe as written before I adjust for altitude. Some work and some do not. This one did not for cupcakes. That being said, the flavor was amazing...they really do taste just like sugar cookies. I am going to decrease the baking powder. I also think that this recipe makes more than 12 cupcakes. It's more like 15 regular cupcakes. I will make again with adjustments and suspect I'll love it and will change my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe was very pretty and it had amazing texture! BUT ITS REALLY BLAND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is my go-to cake recipe. I bake gluten-free, so I sub out the flour with my gf blend and guar gum, and only use one egg when I want it a little fluffier. It's my favorite cake recipe; I've been using this one since I found it last year. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookie McNoodles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This recipe is great! So simple and easy! I made cupcakes and filled the tin 1/2 full then put 2 fresh raspberries and filled it up the rest of the way. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was very dry and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
It was way too dry for my liking. Had a tiny piece and i felt like i needed a large glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States