Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was a pretty respectable recipe. The crumb of the cake was a bit dense with the amount of milk asked for in the recipe, I might have added more. I also forwent the vanilla, and added almond extract instead. I also folded in some raspberry preserves and topped with some chopped walnuts. It turned out quite well. Those that are getting flatter cakes are either not creaming sufficiently after adding the eggs, or over mixing after adding the AP flour, forcing excessive gluten formation. Certain kinds of baking powder (single-action) can't sit around once mix into a moist environment. This means you can't allow the batter to sit around. If you're still having problems, try using a double-action baking powder. I will try this recipe again. The first time through, the cake seems too flimsy to be used easily in layered cake. Perhaps some modification would be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
It was tasteless and even with modifications turned out like cornbread. Won't try this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy to make and taste absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisaweetom
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for my birthday...Doubled the recipe...Filled the layers with lemon curd and just made a vanilla buttercream. The changes I made were to add 1/2 tsp of salt, a bit of almond extract to cake and frosting, and I also used evaporated milk instead of whole milk...which I increased by 1/4 cup total (so 1 1/4 cup). Very nice cake...dense in texture, rather than light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is my go to recipe for all my occasions. Everyone loves the cupcakes I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Following all the advice on here, I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk and upped the vanilla to 1 tbsp, and made this into cupcakes--so delicious! They're a bit flat, but super moist, and taste richer and all around better than any boxed mix. I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was my 1st time making this cake . For strawberry short cake .. I will never go back to box baked goods . It's so good from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was okay. Used the recipe to make mini cupcakes. I did increase the milk to 3/4 c, per other reviewers' suggestion. The mix was a little crumbly, rather than moist. Still tasted great, just not quite what I was after. Could have been operator error, as I had skim milk, rather than whole. Would try this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was my first "from scratch" cake and it was absolutely AMAZING! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I tried it took the other reviews and added the extra milk and the cake came out great. It was light and fluffy I used almond extract it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States