Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I followed the directions and got a reliable, basic white cake which was exactly what I was looking for. This would make a good base for cake variations, and also worked well for making a rainbow-swirl layer cake. It was reluctant to come out of the pans, so make sure to flour and butter them well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori McInerney
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I doubled this recipe and it came out well. Since I wanted the cake to be nice and white I only used the egg whites and discarded the yolks. Divided the batter into three parts and added food color to two of the parts thus making red, white and blue for July 4th. Used half butter and half shortening to insure moistness. It made 18 lrg cupcakes. I found this cake to be dense and more muffin texture than I would like. This probably wouldn't be the case if I had used cake flour. Not too sweet. I used almond extract instead of vanilla. These were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McInerney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
following Jillian's lead, I doubled the recipe, used 1 1/2 cups milk and 2 T vanilla. Seems very bland, even with the additional vanilla. Was okay, but not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I was skeptical about the ease of this recipe. I am used to more labor intensive cake recipes. I needed a quick recipe and this one is that. Well to my surprise this is an excellent and delicious cake recipe. Just as good if not better than those labor intensive recipes I was always baking. NO MORE!!! From now on this is my recipe for cake. Goes to show that sometimes the best things in life are simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I use this recipe 2-3 times a week. I love the denseness of it when I use all-purpose flour. I have gotten so comfortable with the recipe I have added bananas (which wasn't a big hit), lemon (which was) and 1/4 cup cocoa for a chocolate version. It made the cake a bit drier and the chocolate flavor was very subtle which we liked. I hardly ever use frosting on this cake...I just sprinkle on some powered sugar. I also increased the milk to 3/4 cup. I use raw sugar and King Arthur flour....I haven't had any problems making the recipe...I know some people suggest having your eggs and butter at room but I just beat the heck out of it and have never had a problem.....I will use this recipe forever and I cant wait to try it with other flavors...I think maple syrup will be our next adventure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I made it n the cake z superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
My brother always makes this cake and I've never had a better cake. I can't describe it, so you should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
To the person who dissed this recipe based on the fact that they didn't read the ingredients list correctly, (claiming no vanilla extract or salt) ~ please, comprehend what you read before going off & insisting that you can do better .. It does in fact state vanilla extract as an ingredient, & the butter is not specified to be unsalted .. There's your salt madam. And don't forget the vanilla extract, its the fourth item on the ingredients list. Its a great recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sawyer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Not so good :( I doubled the recipe and made some mini cupcakes and used my Wilton 6"round-5 layer pan set. It was dry and kinda flavorless which is what I have found with every white cake recipe I find....I'll have to keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmerk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This cake was sooo good, it almost tasted like as if it had glaze on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States