Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Came out a little dryer than I was wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I must agree with most of the reviews I read that the taste is a little bland, even after adding an additional 3 teaspoons of almond extract. The texture was dense, but I actually used this recipe to test my new cake pop maker so perhaps it also has to do with that. After the first batch of cake pops (7 pops) was done I added 1/4 cup of dried coconut powder, 1 tsp of cononut extract, 1tsp cinnamon to the remaining batter and it was a mayor taste improvement. Like this the cake pops took much longer to cook though. FYI I got a total of 21 cake pops out of the whole recipe. I would use this recipe again using additional flavoring and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I tried this cake today and it turned out to be great.I added choco chips in the batter and it gave a different taste and look altogether. The ingredients are simple & a easy cake to bake for the beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I am always looking to try other cake recipes and This was a okay recipe for a "white cake" To me it tasted to much like corn bread and the dense of the cake was a little on the drier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I did what one reviewer said--to use 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1T vanilla, and to use cake flour, or make your own cake flour. I love the results! I used this recipe to make 6 mini-bundt cakes and it filled all 6 in the pan perfectly, with no cake batter left over. The cakes came out very light and fluffy with a great vanilla taste. I will definitely keep this recipe for all of my future cake endeavors. To make your own cake flour, use 1 cup all purpose flour, remove 2T of it & put it back into your flour canister, then add 2T of corn starch. Sift 5 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
"That cake is killer," is what hubs said, after eating about one fourth of it as blueberry shortcake. I made it exactly as prescribed in the recipe, with the one addition of 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also used salted butter. It is magnificent, really! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My friends and I tried this recipe on the 4th of July, hoping to make a simple cake that we could decorate as a flag. Based on the large amount of positive reviews, we selected this recipe. We followed every step exactly, and made absolutely no mistakes. In short, this is the most HORRIBLE, DISGUSTING & REPULSIVE cake any of us have ever tried. Not only did this cake fail to rise (it was less than an inch tall). The consistency was of poorly made corn bread. The author of this recipe needs to try good cake somewhere, review their recipe and edit it so others don't stumble upon this unfortunate attempt at a "cake recipe." Thank God for Betty Crocker stowed away in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Love this simple vanilla cake! Followed others advice and added extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is a perfect cake to top with fresh berries and a simple frosting or whipped cream! Very moist and light, I may not need any other cake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
not a great cake but edible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States