Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I am always looking to try other cake recipes and This was a okay recipe for a "white cake" To me it tasted to much like corn bread and the dense of the cake was a little on the drier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I did what one reviewer said--to use 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1T vanilla, and to use cake flour, or make your own cake flour. I love the results! I used this recipe to make 6 mini-bundt cakes and it filled all 6 in the pan perfectly, with no cake batter left over. The cakes came out very light and fluffy with a great vanilla taste. I will definitely keep this recipe for all of my future cake endeavors. To make your own cake flour, use 1 cup all purpose flour, remove 2T of it & put it back into your flour canister, then add 2T of corn starch. Sift 5 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
"That cake is killer," is what hubs said, after eating about one fourth of it as blueberry shortcake. I made it exactly as prescribed in the recipe, with the one addition of 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also used salted butter. It is magnificent, really! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This cake fail to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Love this simple vanilla cake! Followed others advice and added extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is a perfect cake to top with fresh berries and a simple frosting or whipped cream! Very moist and light, I may not need any other cake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Used 3/4c milk,1 tbs vanilla, and mixed every step well as suggested.. Awesome cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was really simple to make. Followed the recipe exactly as it is written and it tastes like pancake. Its not a bad taste but not good for a dessert. I might have it in the morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Made cupcakes and they tasted just like sugar cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffani Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was excellent. I set the butter out and put the inside of two vanilla beans in 3/4 cup milk. I put the milk-bean mixture in the fridge started mixing the cake when butter was room temperature. As others suggested I mixed thoroughly between each step. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States