Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This cake was amazing - I could not stop eating the batter before it even reached the oven!! But I did make some changes in the recipe: 1) I used raw (brown) sugar 2) I added about 2C of Chocolate Chips - and it tasted amazing!! My whole family couldn't get enough of it and now I'm making my second batch since the first has gone in a matter of days!! Although I recommend that if you add Chocolate Chips into the cake mix, then make it more thick with flour because the chocolate chips will start to sink to the bottom and can get stuck to the pan and your cake can crumble - and even if it does then its okay- just make cake pops!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious! We made it in the Twos class and the kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
My boyfriend liked them okay, but I thought they tasted like cornbread. Will NEVER make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent simple white/yellow cake. I did make a few adjustments based on previous user comments and from my first attempt at making this cake. On my first endeavor Itthought the cake was too dry and heavy. I realize no w that I beat the cake batter too much once I adde d the flour. That is a mistake I will not repeat. Here are my changes for your consideration: 3/4 cup granulated sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup butter, 3 eggs. I left the flour, vanilla and milk portions as the original recipe stated. Also, I made the butter, eggs and milk were at room temperature. I creamed the butter and sugar in my KitchenAid mixer for probably a good five minutes. Then, when I added the eggs I continued to mix/beat for another five minutes. After I sifted the flour and baking powder together I changed the mixer attachment to the large paddle. I added the flour, making sure my mixer was on the slowest speed. I removed the bowl from the stand and used a wooden spoon to gently fold in the milk. Finally, it was time to bake the cake in a 325 degree preheated oven. I was pleased at how moist the cake turned out. I hope this was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing and so easy. It was huge hit tonight at a family dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made this for a baby shower and everyone raved about it! Not overly sweet, not too dense and but kept together nicely without crumbling. I topped with my own buttercreme frosting. I needed two 9x13" layers so I made 1 1/2 of the recipe and after 30 minutes in my oven it was perfect. The only thing I changed was to add about extra 1/4 cup milk because I thought the batter was too thick. I was so proud of this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It's white cake and that's about it. Kinda bland, kinda dry. Wish I'd put the ingredients towards making my pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is my go-to white cake recipe, but I have to admit it took me a few tries to perfect it. The directions are vague. You really need to cream the butter and sugar. I leave mine for about five minutes in my stand mixer. Then beat the eggs in one at a time and mix really well after each addition and scrape the bowl between eggs. I add 1/4 extra of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla. You want your batter to be thick and fluffy when you are finished. Also don't over bake this or it will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Instead of vanilla extract, I added lemon! Turned out Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I really love this one! I followed directions and made in loaf pan topped with chocolate glaze and I want the whole thing to myself. I think it was dense for some people because it wasn't mixed long enough. I agree with one review that it should look like cool whip that's how you know it will be light! Only a dash extra of milk. This is a great small portion recipe for a quick after dinner dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States