Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It is to dense for my liking I mean it was good but I don't think I'll make it again :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
fabulous! Tried it today. nice and soft cake. I also added some sultanas with it. really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I had no problems with baking when using this recipe. Absolutely loved the cake. This is a quick and simple good cake recipe that is moist and delicious. I wanted to find a cake recipe I could use to make a lemonade cake for my daughters recipe. I had two that I picked to use and didn't even try the other one because this one had me at first bite. First, I made the cake by itself and it didn't last in my house more then 20 minutes. The kids tore it up. Then I doubled up the recipe while adding a lemon pudding mix to the ingredients. After that came the lemonade and sugar mixture. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My first attempt at baking a cake from scratch was a success! I doubled the recipe and added a tad bit extra vanilla extract. My wife also suggested adding some almond extract, the aroma was to die for. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Disappointed. I followed the recipe but also made some of the changes suggested (added the extra 1/4 cup milk, and extra vanilla extract) and I made sure to beat the mixture between adding everything etc. However, my cupcakes turned out dense (which I wouldn't mind as long as they tasted yummy), however, they tasted like pancakes!!! That was the first thing to pop in my head! I am hoping I can salvage them with some homemade buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Really excellent recipe.quick put together .try with an 8 by 8 pan ,cook a little longer.great snack cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made the cake as directed and it was not good at all. It did not rise at all and it was really dry and dense. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great recipe! Made cake in bundt pan, cooked @ 325F between 40-45 minutes came out excellent. Thanks for sharing recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Tasted like a sugar cookie but in a cake! My go to white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Best cake ever! Even my daughter who doesn't like cake or icing couldn't stop raving about how delicious it is! I whipped the butter, sugar, vanilla, and eggs until it looked like whipped cream. It took a little while, but SO worth it. I also alternated between adding some of the flour mix and some of the milk. Other than that, I followed the recipe the way it's written. I only make 2 cakes a year (1 for each kid) and this is the first one I did from scratch. From now on, this is the recipe - no more boxed mixes for me! I got SO many compliments on how great it tasted! People that typically won't eat cake were coming back for seconds and thirds! BTW, I used the Buttercream Icing by Sharon Gerstman from this site, too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States